Haiti

The Latest

SEGAL TALKS: Guy Régis Jr. (Haiti)
Video

SEGAL TALKS: Guy Régis Jr. (Haiti)

Join us for an update on the situation for theatre artists in Haiti.

Tuesday 28 April 2020
United States and Haiti
"French and Yet Never French Enough"
Essay

"French and Yet Never French Enough"

Caribbean Playwrights Challenge the Monolith of French Identity

by Amelia Parenteau
13 January 2020
Marie Chauvet/Haiti: Chauvet's Theatres of Revolt
Video

Marie Chauvet/Haiti: Chauvet's Theatres of Revolt

Monday 24 October 2016
New York, NY, United States
Headshot of Guy Regis.
SEGAL TALKS: Guy Régis Jr. (Haiti)
Video

SEGAL TALKS: Guy Régis Jr. (Haiti)

Join us for an update on the situation for theatre artists in Haiti.

Tuesday 28 April 2020
United States and Haiti

The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center presented SEGAL TALKS: Guy Régis Jr. (Chile) live-streamed on the global, commons-based, peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Tuesday 28 April 2020 at 9 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 11 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 12 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 17:00 BST (London, UTC+1) / 18:00 CEST (Berlin, UTC+2)

two performers in red costumes with a backdrop of the moon.
"French and Yet Never French Enough"
Essay

"French and Yet Never French Enough"

Caribbean Playwrights Challenge the Monolith of French Identity

13 January 2020

Amelia Parenteau discusses the Actions Caribéennes Théâtrales festival, which brought together francophones, francophiles, and theatre folks from around the world to witness staged readings of six French Caribbean plays in English translation.

Marie Chauvet/Haiti: Chauvet's Theatres of Revolt
Video

Marie Chauvet/Haiti: Chauvet's Theatres of Revolt

Monday 24 October 2016
New York, NY, United States

The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center presented Marie Chauvet/Haiti: Chauvet's Theatres of Revolt, livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Monday 24 October 2016 at 2:00 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 4:00 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 5:00 p.m. EDT (New York).  Share your thoughts on Twitter and Instagram with #howlround.

Cry Old Kingdom
Essay

Cry Old Kingdom

23 April 2013

Jeff Augustin’s Cry Old Kingdom takes place in Haiti, 1964 during François "Papa Doc" Duvalier's reigme. Dani Snyder-Young reviews the 2013 Humana Festival production with an eye towards its theme of sacrifice, and the actor-audience power dynamic.