fbpx Weekly Howl Thursday Dec. 20 | HowlRound Theatre Commons

Weekly Howl Thursday Dec. 20

Applied Theater and Theater for Social Change & Advancement

Here's the transcript on Storify—

 

Thumbnail

Join us this Thursday, December 20th for the Weekly Howl on hashtag #newplay at 19:00 GMT/ 2pm EST/ 1pm CST/ 12pm MST/ 11am PST. This will be the last Howl of 2012! The Weekly Howl is an open-access discussion about theatre culture and contemporary performance that happens on Twitter using the hashtag #newplay.* This week, we’ll be discussing Applied Theatre and Theatre for Social Change & Advancement. Dominic D'Andrea @DominicDAndrea will be co-moderating this chat with whomever else would like to get involved. Here are some questions to think on:

  • How do we as artists engage with different populations who are "not artistic"?
  • What kind of work do we do under different circumstances?
  • How do we create conditions for others to engage in dialogue, growth, create conditions for change, etc.?
  • What do these projects and processes look like? (Especially those that do not end in performance.)

Leave comments here below if you have specific prompts and questions you want addressed for this chat. On Thursday, get heard in the conversation by searching for #newplay in Twitter (sort by “all”) and by putting “#newplay” somewhere in your messages.

*The hashtag #newplay in Twitter is a commons tag (i.e. non-proprietary tag) for aggregating global knowledge, information, and conversation related to new works, new performance, and new strategies in the theatre.

Thoughts from the curator

Weekly twitter conversations between HowlRound and followers around a pre-selected topic.

Weekly Howl

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First