Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Monday 14 March from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. EST (New York). 

New York City, NY, United States
Monday 14 March 2016

Add to Calendar

The 10th Annual NoPassport Theatre Conference

Produced With
Monday 14 March 2016

 

Thumbnail

NoPassport and New York University’s Gallatin School of Individualized Study presented The 10th Annual NoPassport Theatre Conference livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Monday 14 March from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. EST (New York). 

In Twitter, use #howlround and follow @fragileshore@howlroundtv@Csvich for updates. 

Initiated and curated by playwright and NoPassport founder Caridad Svich and co-curated by Gallatin faculty and director Kristin Horton.

A one-day conference that will explore acts of spectatorship in relationship to citizenship, the body politic, and the functions of art and art-making in the 21st century. The conference features a keynote address from Pulitzer-nominated playwright Lisa D’Amour, panel on cultural appropriation chaired by Saviana Stănescu and Jeff Janisheski, panel on climate change theatre chaired by Chantal Bilodeau, session on participatory performance chaired by Kristin Horton, film screening from Mezclao Productions and members of theatre department of Pomona College, session on Maria Irene Fornes' legacy chaired by Anne Garcia-Romero (Notre Dame University), session on writing and witnessing chaired by Bianca Bagatourian, playwright/president of the Armenian Dramatic Art Alliance, session on epic theatre chaired by playwright Chiori Miyagawa, manifestos and addresses on the conference topic from Lenora Champagne, David Cale, Daniel Gallant, Erik Ehn, Teresa Eyring, Migdalia Cruz, Catherine Filloux, Oliver Mayer, and more authors and editors from NoPassport Press. This conference is dedicated to the memory of playwright-performer Lynn Manning.

NoPassport is an unincorporated alliance devoted to the advocacy, publication, and production of cross-cultural work that celebrates aesthetic difference and diversity. NoPassport is a sponsored project of Fractured Atlas. Donations to support NoPassport’s work may be made here.

Livestream Schedule:

 

Participatory Performance: The Invitation
Hosted by Kristin Horton and Leila Buck with special surprise guest!

7 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 10 a.m. EST (New York) / 15:00 GMT (London) / 16:00 CET (Paris)

Who is in the space? How does, and should, that affect what we do in it?  In this interactive opening, we'll explore some of the ways that participatory practitioners invite audiences and communities to engage through activities designed to see "who's in the room," connect us with each other in playful ways, and deepen our experience of the day.

Dedication to Lynn Manning and some words on spectatorship From Oliver Mayer
8 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 11 a.m. EST (New York) / 16:00 GMT (London) / 17:00 CET (Paris)

Keynote Address: Lisa D’Amour
8:15 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 11:15 a.m. EST (New York) / 16:15 GMT (London) / 17:15 CET (Paris)

 

"Can You Cry on Cue?" Emotion on Demand with the Alba Technique
Patricia Angelin (Alba Technique Master Teacher) in collaboration with Kevin Schuering (actor/singer)
Introduced by Randy Gener

9:15 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 12:15 p.m. EST (New York) / 17:15 GMT (London) / 18:15 CET (Paris)

Upstander or Bystander? moderated by Bianca Bagatourian
Panel: Erik Ehn (Playwright), Greg Hittelman (Enough Project, Washington D.C.), and Leslie Ayvazian

10 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 1 p.m. EST (New York) / 18:00 GMT (London) / 19:00 CET (Paris)

As playwrights, can we afford to be one or the other? We have tools that can fight injustice and try to overcome the structures that facilitate them in this world. We may not cure things with our work, but can we make them better as we move beyond witness. *This is an Armenian Dramatic Art Alliance session.

3-5 minutes on spectatorship from Erik Ehn
10:55 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 1:55 p.m. EST (New York) / 18:55 GMT (London) / 19:55 CET (Paris)

Epic Plays
Moderated by Oliver Mayer (Associate Professor, USC Dramatic Writing)
Panel: David Herskovits, Lenora Champagne, Vasanti Saxena, t. tara turk, and Meghan Brown

11 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 2 p.m. EST (New York) / 19:00 GMT (London) / 20:00 CET (Paris)

How does a playwright dream big today? How does she break out of producorial expectations and economic limitations to create something other, new, and original? Taking from Brecht's definition of epic theatre, this panel discusses alternative ways to make plays that play with time and space, use large casts, and find opportunities outside the box.

3-5 minutes on spectatorship from Daniel Gallant
11:55 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 2:55 p.m. EST (New York) / 19:55 GMT (London) / 20:55 CET (Paris)

Cultural Appropriation—Who's telling whose story?
Moderated/Curated by Saviana Stanescu
Panel: Kristoffer Diaz, Jeff Janisheski, Aizzah Fatima, Kyoung Park, Geoffrey Jackson Scott

12 p.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 3 p.m. EST (New York) / 20:00 GMT (London) / 21:00 CET (Paris)

 

3-5 minutes on spectatorship from Migdalia Cruz
1:55 p.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 4:55 p.m. EST (New York) / 21:55 GMT (London) / 22:55 CET (Paris)

The Fornes Frame moderated by Anne Garcia-Romero
Panel: Cusi Cram, Migdalia Cruz, Quiara Alegría Hudes, and Elaine Romero

2 p.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 5 p.m. EST (New York) / 22:00 GMT (London) / 23:00 CET (Paris)

A key way to view Latina plays today is through the foundational frame of playwright and teacher, Maria Irene Fornes, who has transformed American theatre. This panel explores the legacy of Fornes and how her work continues to influence and inspire Latina playwrights.

3-5 minutes on spectatorship from Lenora Champagne
2:55 p.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 5:55 p.m. EST (New York) / 22:55 GMT (London) / 23:55 CET (Paris)

Climate Change Theatre session moderated by David Diamond
3 p.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 6 p.m. EST (New York) / 23:00 GMT (London)

A 50-minute roundtable session starts with a report-back by Chantal Bilodeau (The Arctic Cycle), K.C. Reed Fisher (Scripps College), Janet Hayatshahi (Pomona College), and Roberta Levitow (Theatre Without Borders) about the November/December 2015 Climate Change Theatre Action co-sponsored with NoPassport, which included collaborative events in NYC, LA, and over 100 locations around the world. David Diamond (Theatre Without Borders) will then lead a roundtable conversation—including attendees, scientists, and CCTA activists—about how artists can lead by telling the story of Climate Change. *This is a Theatre Without Borders session.

3-5 minutes on spectatorship from Carmen Rivera
3:55 p.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 6:55 p.m. EST (New York) / 23:55 GMT (London)

Upon the Fragile Shore film screening and Q & A with Giovanni Ortega
4 p.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 6 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 7 p.m. EST (New York)

Produced Mezçlão Artistas from the play Upon The Fragile Shore by Caridad Svich. This is an introspective response of the correlation between humanity and our environment starring Olivia Buntaine, Juan Zamudio, Mary Lyon Kamitaki, and Harrison Goodall. The following session will be a discussion between the performers and the director on how they approached this play and adapted it into a short film.

Closing Remarks from Caridad Svich
4:45 p.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 6:45 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 7:45 p.m. EST (New York)

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First