Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Saturday 29 March 2014 9:05 a.m. PDT/ 11:05 a.m. CDT/ 12:05 p.m. EDT/ 4:05 p.m. GMT

Baton Rouge, LA, United States
Saturday 29 March 2014

Add to Calendar

2014 NoPassport Theatre Conference at LSU in Baton Rouge

Produced With
Saturday 29 March 2014

NoPassport and Louisiana State University Department of Theatre presented the 8th annual NoPassport Theatre Conference—Dreaming the Americas: The Diasporic Imagination livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Saturday 29 March 2014. In Twitter, use #3030NP to participate in online conversation.

This one-day theatre conference initiated and curated by Caridad Svich (2012 OBIE for Lifetime Achievement) and co-curated by Eric Mayer-Garcia (LSU) explores the diasporic imagination, and in particular, the intersection of communities with origins in west Africa and the Caribbean, as it is reflected in new writing for the stage and live performance. In Twitter, use #3030NP to participate in online conversation. The following sessions will livestream on HowlRound TV at howlround.tv on Saturday 29 March:

Caribbean Diasporas: Tracing Interconnections Through the Archive, Theatre, Performance, and Ritual moderated by Lillian Manzor (Univ of Miami), panel includes Solimar Otero, Carolina Caballero, Margaret Kemp, and Luis Eligio and Kizzy M H of Omni Zona Franca.
How do we think of and about the diasporic imagination? How is art marked by diaspora altered in its dramaturgy, affective practice and emotive patina? What kinds of stories are generated in diaspora?

 

JAZZ in PLAYS and NoPassport Press salon initiated and led by Oliver Mayer (USC), panelists include Lynn Manning (Watts Village Theater Company, Los Angeles), Christopher Oscar Peña (Playwright), Giovanni Ortega (Pomona College), and Joann Yarrow (Teatro Prometeo, Miami, FLA)
9:05 a.m.-10:30 a.m. PDT/ 11:05 a.m.-12:30 p.m. CDT/ 12:05 p.m.-1:30 p.m. EDT/ 4:05 p.m.-5:30 p.m. GMT
Playwright Oliver Mayer leads this session with fellow playwrights and theatremakers to talk about and perform their exploration of Jazz in dramatic writing. How do these artists interpret beat, rhythm, syncopation, improvisation, and swing notes in their work?

 

THE KATRINA EFFECT: Performance Response to Gulf Coast Manmade Disasters panel led by Anneliese Fox (LSU), panelists include Nick Slie (Mondo Bizarro, New Orleans), Kathy Randels (ArtSpot Productions, New Orleans), John Biguenet (Loyola University), Leigh Fondakowski (Tectonic Theater Project), and more.
12:30 p.m.-1:50 p.m. PDT/ 2:30 p.m.-3:50 p.m. CDT/ 3:30 p.m.-4:50 p.m. EDT/ 7:30 p.m.-8:50 p.m. GMT
This panel looks at artists making work in the Gulf Coast and NOLA region in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina.

 

Performance from Teatro Luna (all-female Latina performance troupe, Chicago, IL); 30 minute excerpts from GENERATION SEX with 10 minute Q&A.
2 p.m.-2:50 p.m. PDT/ 4 p.m.-4:50 p.m. CDT/ 5 p.m.-5:50 p.m. EDT/ 9 p.m.-9:50 p.m. GMT
8 minute quick break/shift to Dance Studio venue

 

Signdance Collective International (UK) 30-minute performance of extract from new project CARTHAGE/CARTAGENA
3:05 p.m.-3:40 p.m. PDT/ 5:05 p.m.-5:40 p.m. CDT/ 6:05 p.m.-6:40 p.m. EDT/ 10:05 p.m.-10:40 p.m. GMT
Signdance Collective International (SDC) is a disability arts dance-theatre ensemble based in UK comprised of artists from Cuba, Wales, Brazil, and more. Their work lives in the intersection of sign language and movement theatre with and/or inspired by texts or music. CARTHAGE/CARTAGENA is written by Caridad Svich and is in development with SDC under Beatriz Cabur’s direction for eventual tour.

 

About NoPassport
NoPassport was founded by playwright Caridad Svich in 2003 as a Pan-American theatre alliance & press devoted to action, advocacy, and change toward the fostering of cross-cultural diversity and difference in the arts with an emphasis on the embrace of the hemispheric spirit in US Latina/o and Latin-American theater-making.
www.caridadsvich.com/NoPassport. Caridad Svich and NoPassport is a sponsored project of Fractured Atlas, a non-profit arts service organization. www.nopassport.org

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark