Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Sunday 14 February to Friday 19 February 2016 9 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 10 a.m. MST (Denver) / 11 a.m. CST (Chicago) / 12 p.m. EST (New York)

Denver, CO, United States
Sunday 14 February to Friday 19 February 2016

Add to Calendar

The 2016 Colorado New Play Summit

Sunday 14 February to Friday 19 February 2016

 

Thumbnail

The Denver Center for the Performing Arts presented three events from the 2016 Colorado New Play Summit livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Sunday 14 February to Friday 19 February. 

In Twitter, use #CNPS16 and #HowlRound. Follow @HowlRoundTV and @DenverCenter for updates.

Devised Work Panel
Sunday 14 February at 9 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 10 a.m. MST (Denver) / 11 a.m. CST (Chicago) / 12 p.m. EST (New York). 

 

Join the Denver Center for the Performing Arts and Third Rail Projects, hailed as one of the foremost companies creating site-specific, immersive, and experiential dance-theatre in the US, for a panel discussion on creating devised work. Third Rail Projects’ current productions include Then She Fell and The Grand Paradise. The DCPA is the first regional theatre in the country to commission Third Rail Projects, and together the companies are creating a new immersive piece which will premiere in Denver later this year.  

 

Dialogue on Dialogue Roundtable
Thursday 18 February at 6 p.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 7 p.m. MST (Denver) / 8 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 9 p.m. EST (New York). 

Join playwright Matthew Lopez and some of our acclaimed commissioned writers for a roundtable discussion about their writing processes, favorite first scenes, and more. After live scene readings, playwrights will give a glimpse inside the inspiration, frustration, and “ah-ha!” moments of writing a script. Playwrights include: Pulitzer Prize winner Robert Schenkkan (All the Way, The 12, The Kentucky Cycle); Anne Garcia-Romero (Santa ConcepciónPaloma); and Susan Smith Blackburn nominee Lauren Yee (Samsara, in a word, The Hatmaker’s Wife).

 

Late Night Playwrights’ Slam
Friday 19 February at 8:30 p.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 9:30 p.m. MST (Denver) / 10:30 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 11:30 p.m. EST (New York). 

Tune in as playwrights from around the country debut brand-new works-in-progress in front of a live audience.

Featuring:

  • DCPA commissioned writers Rogelio Martinez, Kemp Powers, Robert Schenkkan, Regina Taylor, Lauren Yee
  • DCPA Playwright in Residence Matthew Lopez
  • Colorado playwright Andrew Hinderacker (with guest Brett Schneider)

About the Colorado New Play Summit
Hailed as a “a must-see stop for new-play development” by American Theatre Magazine, the Colorado New Play Summit has introduced 44 new plays, over half of which returned to the stage as full Theatre Company productions. Recent Summit World Premieres include Matthew Lopez’s The Legend of Georgia McBride (which made it’s Off-Broadway debut at the MCC Theater), Samuel D. Hunter’s The Whale, Eric Schmiedl’s adaptation of Kent Haruf’s Benediction, Catherine Trieschmann’s The Most Deserving, Marcus Gardley’s black odyssey, Karen Zacarias’s Just Like Us, Jeffrey Haddow and Neal Hampton’s Sense and Sensibility The Musical, and Dick Scanlan’s reimagined version of The Unsinkable Molly Brown.

About the Denver Center for the Performing Arts
The Denver Center for the Performing Arts (DCPA) is a not-for-profit theatre organization dedicated to creating unforgettable shared experiences through beloved Broadway musicals, world-class plays, educational programs, and inspired events. The DCPA is the largest non-profit theatre organization in the nation, offering more than 40 plays and musicals year-round that engage and inspire audiences of all ages and interests.

The Theatre Company is helmed by Producing Artistic Director Kent Thompson and is currently in its 37th season.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First