Livestreamed on this page from Tuesday 23 February to Saturday 27 February 2021.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Tuesday 23 February to Saturday 27 February 2021

Black Spatial Relics

Celebrating and learning from the centuries-long Black freedom dialectic between the Caribbean and Philadelphia

Produced With
Tuesday 23 February to Saturday 27 February 2021

Black Spatial Relics presented their second annual convening livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Tuesday 23 February to Saturday 27 February 2021.

About the Convening
Now as much as ever, radical gathering spaces for rumination on Black freedoms are crucial. From February 23 - 27, 2021, Black Spatial Relics (BSR) is hosting its second annual convening. Building on our work to create Black spaces for creation, exploration, and community, this will be a free and virtual convening that will feature our 2020 artists-in-residence and several other Black performance makers and scholars from around Philadelphia and beyond. Featuring keynotes from Ebony Noelle Golden and Germaine Ingram, original work by Viktor L. Ewing-Givens, workshops and an artist talk from Misty Sol (Philadelphia, PA), Danielle Deadwyler (Atlanta, GA), Ada Pinkston (Baltimore, MD), and Crystal Z Campbell (Tulsa, OK), a BSR commissioned Philly Black Carribean Zine curated by Shanel Edwards, and a Black Diaspora Artist Salon hosted by Jumatatu Poe, this digital convening is celebrating and learning from the centuries-long Black freedom dialectic between the Caribbean and Philadelphia, as we launch new spaces in our residency program for artists in the Caribbean. This convening is presented in partnership with Center for Experimental Ethnography at Penn and Howlround. Registration will open Tuesday February 16th at Blackspatialrelics.org The convening will be free and open to the public.

About Black Spatial Relics
Black Spatial Relics is a new performance residency about slavery, justice, and freedom. The residency annually supports the development of new performance works that address and incorporate public histories of slavery and contemporary issues and pursuits of justice and freedom. Founded in 2016,, Black Spatial Relics is now in its fifth year of programming as a residency program, convener and regrantor. The 2020 Black Spatial Relics artists in residence include Misty Sol (Philadelphia, PA), Danielle Deadwyler (Atlanta, GA), Ada Pinkston (Baltimore, MD), and Crystal Z Campbell (Tulsa, OK). Omi Osun Joni L. Jones has been our Dramaturg in Residence.

Five Years and the Future: Dream With Us #BSRFIVE
At this year’s annual convening we celebrate five years of Black Spatial Relics. Founded in 2016 at the Center for the Study of Slavery and Justice at Brown University, the Black Spatial Relics (BSR) Residency initially supported the development of two new performance works that addressed and incorporated the public history of slavery and contemporary issues of justice. Over these past five years we have built a wide web of Black creatives across the United States.

Since 2016, BSR has supported:

8 Artists-in-Residence (offered support in a 2,500.00 award, dramaturgical support and presenting opportunities)
12 Microgrants (Microgrants were initiated in 2020 in response to the pandemic to support Black collective research and community care efforts.)
2 Convenings (Presenting a suite of Black radical performance makers from around the U.S.)

We look forward to expanding our reach further, and creating more opportunities for Black creatives to come together, dream, and create. In 2021 will be celebrating and learning from the centuries-long Black freedom dialectic between the Caribbean and Philadelphia, as we launch new spaces in our residency program for artists in the Caribbean.

Sharing in love, joy, hope, and freedom dreaming, together we will celebrate how far Black Spatial Relics has come in 2021, and look forward to what is in the stars next. We invite you to look back on all of our proudest moments as an initiative, and join us in our future growth.

Dream With Us #BSRFIVE

Black Spatial Relics is a national residency program, founded and directed by Arielle Julia Brown. The Black Spatial Relics Residency is made possible with support from the JKW Foundation, Velocity Fund, Monument Lab, and independent donors. Black Spatial Relics is a fiscally sponsored project of both Fractured Atlas and Notch Theatre Company. For more information about the 2020 artists in residence, their work, past artists in residence, and the 2020 convening, visit our website.

Tuesday 23 February

 

Opening and Welcome
1:30 p.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 3:30 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 4:30 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

Wednesday 24 February

 

Artist Talk with 2020 Artists-in-Residence
3:30 p.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 5:30 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 6:30 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

Thursday 25 February

 

Caribbean Zine Workshop Share Out Curated and Hosted by Shanel Edwards
3 p.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 5 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 6 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

Friday 26 February

 

Black Diaspora Artist Salon Curated and Hosted by Jumatutu M. Poe
3 p.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 5 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 6 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

Saturday 27 February

Closing Remarks and Keynote
9 a.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 11 a.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 12 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark