Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Sunday 16 March at 11:30 a.m. PDT/ 1:30 p.m. CDT/ 2:30 p.m. EDT/ 18:30 GMT.

New York, NY, United States
Sunday 16 March 2014

Add to Calendar

Bum Phillips All-American Opera at La MaMa Experimental Theatre Club

Sunday 16 March 2014

 

Thumbnail

La MaMa Experimental Theatre Club in New York presented a performance of Bum Phillips All-American Opera by Monk Parrots livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday 16 March at 11:30 a.m. PDT/ 1:30 p.m. CDT/ 2:30 p.m. EDT/ 18:30 GMT. In Twitter, use #howlround.

Concept, Direction, Production Design by Luke Leonard, Libretto by Kirk Lynn, Music by Peter Stopschinski

This world premiere opera celebrates the improbable life of Bum Phillips, a National Football League legend and American icon. Inspired by Phillips’ motivational skills and homespun principles, this epic portrait of Bum Phillips pushes the boundaries of where and for whom opera is staged. This new work from Monk Parrots features composition from Peter Stopschinski and a libretto by Kirk Lynn, both members of the award-winning theatre collective Rude Mechanicals.

 

La Mama in collaboration with international partners is embarking on a new global initiative to use digital technologies as a vehicle for ongoing collaborations with our rich and diverse friends and family around the world. To help facilitate this type of interaction, we have partnered with CultureHub, whose vision is to bring artists from diverse disciplines and cultures together to explore art and technology as a means for developing new forms of expression, sharing creative experiences, and promoting global collaboration, learning, and innovation.

 

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First