Livestreamed on this page Friday 24 June 2016 1:30 p.m.-2:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 12:30 p.m.-1:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 10:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles) 

Miami, FL, United States
 Friday 24 June 2016

Add to Calendar

City Theatre Presents CityWrights: 6th Annual Professional Weekend for Playwrights in Miami—Friday 24 June 2016

Produced With
 Friday 24 June 2016

 

Thumbnail

City Theatre in Miami presented CityWrights: The 6th Annual Professional Weekend for Playwrights livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network on howlround.tv Friday 24 June. Share your thoughts on Twitter with #howlround.  

The first CityWrights Conference in 2011 was an intimate experiment to gather playwrights from our South Florida backyard and around the country for a weekend of creative and professional “work and play.” City Theatre’s goal was to meet playwrights and have playwrights meet us and see the kind of work we do in our signature programming, the annual Summer Shorts Festival. Another was to bring to Miami the theatre artists, experts, and industry leaders who are impacting how playwrights create work and manage business today, to inspire, educate, and engage us. Finally, we wanted to make a forum for dramatists that would be creative, productive, and fun, and add to the growing cultural dynamic of South Florida. 

Livestream Schedule:

Friday 24 June

Musicals: Production and Process

 


1:30 p.m.-2:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 12:30 p.m.-1:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 10:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles) 

Featuring insight from Georgia Stitt, Greg Kotis, Amanda Green, Greg Edwards, Andy Roninson, and moderated by Jennifer Tepper, our acclaimed panel will discuss the current landscape of musical theatre—what kinds of musicals are being produced right now? What is the process of production for new musical theatre, and how can our playwrights get the ball rolling?

Exploring “Other Platforms” 

 


2:45 p.m.-3:45 p.m. EDT (New York) / 1:45 p.m.-2:45 p.m. CDT (Chicago)  / 11:45 a.m.-12:45 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) 

Donna Hoke will discuss the world of social media and blogging, and how the playwright can use the digital landscape to further their personal “brand,” get their work out there, and let their voices be heard. We also have Casey McLain, of Samuel French, Andy Roninson, of the Take a Ten podcast and Summer Shorts 2016 composer, as well as Summer Shorts playwrights Greg Edwards and Jennifer Jasper discussing their various playwright “extracurriculars”—the artistic mediums that allow them to express themselves and self-promote.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First