Friday 26 June to Saturday 27 June 2015 9 a.m. EDT (New York) / 6 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 13:00 GMT.

Miami, FL, United States
Friday 26 June to Saturday 27 June 2015

Add to Calendar

CityWrights: A Professional Weekend for Playwrights

Produced With
Friday 26 June to Saturday 27 June 2015

 

Thumbnail

City Theatre in Miami presented CityWrights 2015—A Professional Weekend for Playwrights livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Friday 26 June to Saturday 27 June.

In Twitter, use #CityWrights and #howlround. Follow @HowlRoundTV for updates.

Livestream schedule:

 

 

Why Does Fixing Gender Parity Matter?
Friday 26 June at 9 a.m.-10:15 a.m. EDT (New York) / 6 a.m.-7:15 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 13:00-14:15 GMT.

The American Theatre is notorious for being an “Old Boys Club,” but what will it take to achieve gender parity in the theatre without being bitter and overly aggressive, but being active about taking action and demanding opportunities? What are the statistics, and what are we doing to not only fix the problem, but to change the numbers? Join the conversation about the Lily’s, The Count, NNPN, and The Kilroys.

 

 

NPX and Marketing Your Work Online
Friday 26 June at 10:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m. EDT (New York) / 7:30 a.m.-8:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 14:30-15:30 GMT

How can blogging, social media, and online databases help launch your network to the next level? How do you build a following of professionals and commoners? There’s a world beyond Facebook and Twitter, check out NNPN’s NPX and HowlRound to build your network to market your work and get discovered.

 

 

Breaking it Down: Tips and Strategies from the Trenches
Saturday 27 June at 1:15 p.m.-2:15 p.m. EDT (New York) / 10:15 a.m.-11:15 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 17:15-18:15 GMT

What does it take to be a working playwright in today’s theatre? Where do you place yourself, and how do you get produced? What are the measures necessary for playwrights to take? Hear from some regularly produced playwrights around the country about their journeys, trials, challenges, and paths to production.

 

Storytelling in Other Medias
Saturday 27 June at 2:30 p.m.-3:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 18:30-19:30 GMT

From Page to Stage… or screen. How far can your writing go? Why limit yourself when there are multiple forms of media to explore? How do you get into the industry? Explore writing for Television, Streaming, Web-series, and Stand Up.

 

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First