Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page on Wednesday 12 December
2:30 p.m. PST (San Francisco) / 4:30 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 5:30 p.m. EST (New York)

New York City
Wednesday 12 December 2018

Devised Theatre: Curating, Producing, Presenting (A Practical Roundtable)

The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center

Wednesday 12 December 2018

The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center in New York City presented Devised Theatre: Curating, Producing, Presenting (A Practical Roundtable) livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Wednesday 12 December 2018 at 2:30 p.m. PST (San Francisco) / 4:30 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 5:30 p.m. EST (New York).

What is devised theater? This form, which confounds traditional notions of theatermaking, is itself confounding. It has come to mean many different (and sometimes conflicting) things, depending on the context. Join our working group discussion, featuring producing institutions, artists, legal experts, and scholars, as we attempt to create a comprehensive definition for the “devised theater.” What happens when the collaboration expands beyond traditional definitions? How is the work curated, produced, presented, compensated and credited?

Book Talk
2:30 p.m. PST (San Francisco) / 4:30 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 5:30 p.m. EST (New York)
with Jimmy Maize/Barbara Pitts McAdams, Moment Work (2018), and Coya Paz, Ensemble-Made Chicago: A Guide to Devised Theater (2018)

6:30pm Practical Roundtable: Defining Devised
3:30 p.m. PST (San Francisco) / 5:30 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 6:30 p.m. EST (New York)
with Janani Balasubramanian, Dr. Natalie Gosnell, Sandra Garner, Ryan J. Haddad, Kathryn Hamilton, Flako Jimenez, Ayesha Jordan, Andrew Kircher, Jimmy Maize, Barbara Pitts McAdams, Deborah Murad, Caitlin Ryan O’Connell, Aya Ogawa, Dan Rothenberg, Sam Schanwald, and Alyssa Simmons.

Organized and led by Andrew Kircher, Director of The Public Theater’s Devised Theater Initiative.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First