Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page on Saturday 18 April 2020 at 9 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles, UTC-7) / 12:00 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 6 p.m. CEST (Paris UTC+2) AND at 5 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles, UTC-7) / 8:00 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 19 April 2020 2 a.m. CEST (Paris UTC+2)

United States
Saturday 18 April 2020

Experiments in Digital Storytelling | Open Rehearsal with Double Eye Studios

Exploring the potential of emerging technologies to create dynamic and engaging live storytelling experiences

Saturday 18 April 2020

CultureHub and La MaMa presented Experiments in Digital Storytelling | Open Rehearsal with Double Eye Studios livestreamed on the global, commons-based, peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Saturday 18 April 2020 at 9 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles, UTC-7) / 12:00 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 6 p.m. CEST (Paris UTC+2) AND at 5 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles, UTC-7) / 8:00 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 19 April 2020 2 a.m. CEST (Paris UTC+2).

In two open rehearsals Double Eye Studios will share their process developing a new work of VR theatre, Pandora X. Director Kiira Benzing and her team at Double Eye will work with an actor wearing a VR headset as they perform in and create a virtual world. Rewinding, Double Eye will also share their most recent explorations in VR theatre with Loveseat at the Venice Film Festival, and flash forward to where they are going with CultureHub and their future production Pandora X, which tells the story from Pandora’s POV, asking how her destiny could be altered if her curiosity was celebrated. Actors, technologists, and directors will test early concepts with the collective audience. The open rehearsal will be followed by a Q&A with the audience.

Double Eye Studios builds interactive and immersive storyworlds through emerging technology. Founded by Kiira Benzing, Double Eye Studios has been developing a process for performing to Live and Virtual audiences simultaneously. In defining and refining VR Theater, their goal is to push boundaries and to provide meaningful experiences. Their work has been exhibited at some of the most prestigious film festivals around the world including: Venice International Film Festival, Sundance, Tribeca, SXSW, and the New York Film Festival at Lincoln Center.

Experiments in Digital Storytelling is an initiative by CultureHub and La MaMa that explores the potential of emerging technologies to create dynamic and engaging live storytelling experiences.

First Rehearsal

Second Rehearsal

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First