Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page from Thursday 13 May to Friday 21 May 2021.

United States
Thursday 13 May to Friday 21 May 2021

Our Theater Ecology

TCG's 2021 National Conference Online

Thursday 13 May to Friday 21 May 2021

Theatre Communications Group presented their 2021 National Conference: Our Theatre Ecology livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Thursday 13 May to Friday 21 May 2021.

Join us for our second Virtual Conference, Our Theatre Ecology, in two parts: 13-14 May and 20-21 May 2021. Inspired by our new mission to lead for a just and thriving theatre ecology, we'll engage in a systems check, focusing on three converging areas: Pandemic Recovery, Climate Action, and Systemic Anti-Racism, while centering the needs and experiences of BIPOC in the theatre field. As we celebrate our 60th Anniversary amidst this tumultuous year, ongoing crises are cracking open new possibilities for sweeping, positive change.

Part 1 will focus on knowledge-building and awareness-raising in these areas through various learning and connection opportunities, investigating together where our models have failed or saved us. For Part 2, we’ll build on that experience to gather tools toward identifying levers for change, making fundamental shifts in our practices, and sustaining large-scale transformation individually, institutionally, and as a theatre movement.

Watch selected events on this page, or click here to register for the full conference.
 

Livestream schedule

 

Thursday 13 May 2021

 

Opening Plenary: Opening Keynote: Eric Liu, Author, CEO of Citizen University, former White House advisor with Q+A moderated by Hannah Fenlon
12 p.m. - 1 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4 ) / 9 a.m. - 10 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles, UTC -7)
 

Connected Cultures: An artist roundtable on climate, race, place, and disability
3:15 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4) / 12:15 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles, UTC -7)

 

Friday 14 May 2021

 

Afternoon Plenary: Dreaming with the Inheritors (#Poweredby30andUnder)
2:15 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4 ) / 11:15 p.m. - 12:30 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles, UTC -7)

Indigenizing Theater: Conversations with young Native theater artists and activists (#Poweredby30andUnder)
3:45 p.m. - 5 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4 ) / 12:45 p.m. - 2 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles, UTC -7)

 

Thursday 20 May 2021

 

RADICAL TRANSFORMATION: A Think-Tank with Twin Cities Black Theater Artists
12 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4 ) / 9 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles, UTC -7)

Arts Advocacy: More Important than Ever
1:45 p.m. - 3 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4) / 10:45 a.m. - 12 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles, UTC -7)

BIPOC Led Search and Strategic Planning
3:15 p.m. - 4 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4) / 12:15 p.m. - 1 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles, UTC -7)

Through A Black Woman’s Lens – A Look at the Disparities in Hollywood & Theater for Black Women
5 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4 ) / 2 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles, UTC -7)

 

Friday 21 May 2021

 

Divest to Invest with Groundwater Arts
12:30 p.m. - 1:45 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4 ) / 9:30 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles, UTC -7)

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark