Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page on Thursday 12 March to Saturday 14 March 2020.

New York City
Thursday 12 March - Saturday 14 March 2020

Re-Fest NYC

CultureHub’s annual festival brings artists, activists, and technologists together to envision our role in re-shaping the future

Produced With
Thursday 12 March - Saturday 14 March 2020

CultureHub presented their annual festival Re-Fest livestreamed on the commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Thursday 12 March to Saturday 14 March 2020.

CultureHub's annual festival goes fully online in NYC. Watch live as performances, discussions, exhibition tours, and artist interviews engage the theme Re-Generation.

Thursday 12 March

Thursday NYC Programming
3:30 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 5:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 6:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) 

  • Livestream and exhibition tour begins
  • Opening Ceremony with Silver Cloud Singers
  • Hack(Comedy) by Lan Zhang
  • Re-Generating Text with Style a discussion with Maxwell Neely-Cohen, Allison Parrish, Blair Simmons, and Katy Ilonka Gero
  • Artist interview with Winnie Yoe
  • Artist interview with Nuntinee Tansrisakul & Yuguang Zhang
  • The Wind Catcher by Wenjing Liu, followed by an artist interview
  • Livestream and exhibition tour ends

Friday 13 March

Friday NYC Programming
3:30 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 5:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 6:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4)

  • Livestream begins
  • The Santana Project a discussion with Marilyn Nance, Al Santana, RaFia Santana, Ali Santana, Stephanie Santana, Ayinde Santana
  • Telephone by Nora Rodriguez
  • I miss the good old days by Aaron Moreno Ayala

Saturday 14 March

Saturday NYC Programming
11 a.m. - 3 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 1 p.m. - 5 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 2 p.m. - 6 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4)

  • home (an excerpt) by Nia & Ness
  • Maria en Me by John Gutierrez
  • Re/Lens: Old Glass for New Eyes a workshop with Amir Husak and Melissa Friedling
  • Disrupting the Frame a workshop with Robert Pluma, Ann Bennett, Katja Esson, and Simone Salvo
  • Everyday Word Choice as a World Building Strategy a workshop with Leila Kassiri
  • Native 101 a workshop with Safe Harbors Indigenous Collective

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First