Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Saturday 25 May 2013 at 4:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 6:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 7:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 23:30 GMT.

Williamsburg, VA, United States
Saturday 25 May 2013

Add to Calendar

Tori Keenan-Zelt's The Egypt Play, or The Misses Blake on a Holiday Jihad at Panglossian Productions

Produced With
Saturday 25 May 2013

 

Thumbnail

Panglossian Productions in Williamsburg, Virginia presented a livestreaming workshop performance of Tori Keenan-Zelt’s new work The Egypt Play, or The Misses Blake on a Holiday Jihad livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Saturday 25 May 2013 at 4:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 6:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 7:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 23:30 GMT. View a conversion into your local time.

The Egypt Play, or The Misses Blake on a Holiday Jihad, which was named a 2013 O’Neill semifinalist, is a dark comedy about two British women—mother and daughter—traveling in 1880s Egypt in search of adventure and escape from their restrictive lives and from each other. When they hire local guides and start heading south on the Nile toward a war between Mahdist rebels and British occupiers, things get… well… real.

 

The reading will be a partially staged, script-in-hand performance, directed by Nicholas Roesler and produced by Steven Koernig. It will feature local actors Abigail Schumann, Sharon Forsher Hollands, Miguel Girona, Jr., and Damian Girona. 

Tori Keenan-Zelt is a playwright and screenwriter who recently completed her MFA at NYU Tisch Asia in Singapore. She is founding Co-Artistic Director of Panglossian Productions and also serves as Associate Artistic Director of the Virginia Shakespeare Festival. She was recently named a Playwrights’ Center Core Apprentice for 2013-14.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First