Twitter Conversation using #newplay on Thursday, Oct. 4

Arts in Rural Communities

Read the full transcript here

 

Thumbnail

Join us every Thursday at 18:00 GMT / 7pm BST / 2pm EDT / 1pm CDT / 12pm MDT / 11am PDT for the Weekly Howl, an open discussion about theater culture and contemporary performance that happens on Twitter using the hashtag “#newplay.”

This week, @HowlRound will be co-moderating with Scott Walters @walt828 and Noah Siegler @stagenorth.

Get heard in the conversation by searching for “#newplay” in Twitter and by putting “#newplay” somewhere in your messages.

Below are some questions to frame this one-hour discussion on Arts in Rural Communities. Contribute your questions in the comments section here or during the Howl on hashtag #newplay in Twitter.

  • The regional theater movement focused on decentralizing theater and has spread it to many urban areas across the country. Is the next frontier rural and small towns?
  • How might the business model for the arts and the role of the artist need to be changed in order to succeed in a small or rural area?
  • Why might it be important for more community-based, participatory approaches to be more effective in small or rural communities?
  • What opportunities might be available for artists in small and rural communities?

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark
Thoughts from the curator

A series featuring voices from the United States' rural arts communities.

Rural Theatre

Interested in following this conversation in real time? Receive email alerting you to new threads and the continuation of current threads.

subscribe

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First