Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Tuesday 13 October at 4 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 6 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 7 p.m. EDT (New York) / 23:00 GMT. 

Boston, MA, United States
Tuesday 13 October 2015

Conversation: Exploring the Difference between Real and Imagined Bodies on Stage

Produced With
Tuesday 13 October 2015

 

Thumbnail

ArtsEmerson in Boston presented a public dialogue Exploring the Difference between Real and Imagined Bodies on Stage livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Tuesday 13 October at 4 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 6 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 7 p.m. EDT (New York) / 23:00 GMT. 

In Twitter, use #howlround and follow @HowlRoundTV.

 

We are living in a moment when bodies are at odds with identities—where Rachel Dolezal and Caitlyn Jenner create endless internet wars over what constitutes one’s real self. What can artists tell us about our cultural struggle to come to terms with the relationship between our embodied selves and our lived identities? We will talk to artists who put their bodies on the line—whether through inhabiting multiple characters, through exposing their innermost vulnerabilities, or through crossing gender lines—to consider how performance expands our sense of selfhood.

Moderated by P. Carl, Director of HowlRound and Creative Director of ArtsEmerson.

Tangela Large, Actor
Sidney Monroe, Youth Programs Manager, The Theater Offensive

David Adjmi is the Playwright-in-Residence at SoHo Rep through the National Playwright Residency Program, funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. Find out more about his residency experience here and learn about the impact of the program at large here

The public dialogue series Naming Ourselves: Provocative Conversations On Identity And Representation is aimed at connecting the work on our stages, our artists, our community partners, and our audiences through conversations that address the concerns and challenges of our contemporary moment. Read more.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First