Event Has Passed

Encuentro 2014 at the The Los Angeles Theatre Center—#CafeOnda—Saturday 18 October - Monday 10 November 2014

Thumbnail

 

Thumbnail

The Los Angeles Theatre Center in association with the Latina/o Theatre Commons (LTC) proudly presented Encuentro 2014: A National Latina/o Theatre Festival livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Saturday 18 October through Monday 10 November 2014.

In Twitter, join the conversation using hashtags #CafeOnda (for anything Latina/o theatre related—past, present, and future), #Encuentro2014 (for the Los Angeles Theatre Center's Festival events October to November), and #howlround (for anything theatre and performance related). Additionally, follow the accounts: @CafeOnda, @TheLATC, and @HowlRoundTV.

Visit the Latina/o Theatre Commons group on Facebook.

The most significant national gathering of Latina/o theatre artists to date comes to downtown Los Angeles' historic core and broadcasts world-wide. This historic, month-long event is the first national theatre festival to bring together: more than nineteen theatre companies, 150 artists from the U.S. and Puerto Rico, seventeen works that explore the Latina/o experience on stage, two Pulitzer Prize-winning works, stories of violence at the border, pressing immigration concerns, the complexities of romantic relationships and families, and various free events.

TERTULIA EVENTS
These free tertulias, produced by the LTC, will help to deepen the conversations brought up in the productions presented in the 2014 LATC Encuentro. A tertulia is a social gathering or “salon” with literary and artistic overtones, especially in Spain and Latin America, where people informally meet to talk about current affairs and the arts. Click here for a full schedule of tertulia events. 

Join us via livestream on HowlRound TV at howlround.tv as we call upon the expertise of national and Los Angeles-based artists and scholars to engage audience members in panels, dialogues, speeches, and interactive events around diverse topics pertinent to the field.

Saturday 18 October at 7 p.m.-9 p.m. EDT (New York) / 6 p.m.-8 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4 p.m.-6 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles)
Harnessing the Power of “YO”

Solo shows continue to be essential to theatre artists when exploring politics, history, family, becoming… What are the individual methodologies and storytelling techniques that continue to inspire our artists today? How is this useful when engaging with audiences to provide common ground for otherwise risqué conversations about our communities and ourselves? Join us for a conversation with solo theatre and spoken word artists who are performing during the Encuentro, as well as from the Los Angeles community, as they discuss the challenges and rewards of being alone on stage. Featuring: Jose Torres-Tama, Rubén C. Gonzalez, Marissa Chibas, Karen Anzoategui, and Juan Enrique Carillo.

Sunday 19 October at 7 p.m.-9 p.m. EDT (New York) / 6 p.m.-8 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4 p.m.-6 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles)
Performance and the Projected Image: On Using Pre-Existing Video and Live Feed on Stage
Hosted by Duende CalArts

Theatre practitioners have been incorporating emerging new technologies for centuries. Just as the electric light replaced gaslamp, projected images have become increasingly integral to our storytelling, enhancing our work in many ways. This lively conversation with some of the festival artists using video in their plays will delve into questions such as: Beyond providing realistic or mood backdrops; what does projection contribute to a theatrical event, especially the close-up? What is the emotional or narrative impact? Are digital natives more drawn to this element?  Does video bring an “interiority” to the theatrical experience?

This panel will be led by festival participant and Head of Duende CalArts Marissa Chibas, and includes panelists Peter Flaherty (head of the video design program in the CalArts Theater School), Daniel Jáquez, Director & Thomas Ontiveros, Video/Projections/Lighting Designer of INTAR’s Patience, Fortitude and Other Antidepressants, Javier Gonzalez, Artistic Director of Caborca Theater, and Justin Nestor, Associate Artistic Director of Theater Mitu.

Saturday 25 October at 7:30 p.m.-9:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 6:30 p.m.-8:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4:30 p.m.-6:30 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles)
Translation & Presentation: “Porque no en Español?”

This discussion will focus on the urgency of creating and presenting work in Spanish as a community engagement initiative, as well as for aesthetic and narrative purposes. The conversation will also cover translation and adaptation as close cousins to this process that continues to inspire and empower young artists around the nation. Guests will include Anthony Rodríguez, Artistic Director of Aurora Theater in Lawrenceville, Georgia, Rafa Sanchez from Tantai Teatro in San Juan, Puerto Rico, and Eva Tessler from Borderlands Theatre in Tucson, AZ—all members of Encuentro featured companies that direct, produce, and/or act in both languages. Join us for an open dialogue on the “pros” of including programming in Spanish and the crafting of teatro en español for a new generation of Americans. 

Sunday 26 October at 7:30 p.m.-9:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 6:30 p.m.-8:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4:30 p.m.-6:30 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles)
Exploring the Connection between Literature & Theater: A Conversation & Book Signing with Sonia Nazario & Magdalena Gomez

(This event will not be livestreamed, but will be available as a video recording soon afterwards.)

Tuesday 28 October at 10:00 p.m.-11:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 9:00 p.m.-10:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 7:00 p.m.-8:30 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles)
Activism & the Arts: A Life Journey

Writer, producer, and performer Dan Guerrero travels through decades of Chicana/o and LGBT history illustrated through first-hand storytelling and historic photos. Through his own experiences, Guerrero speaks to the relationship between social and political movements and the artists who translate upheavals into cultural record. He explores the intersection of both Chicana/o and LGBT movements, addressing the importance of solidarity across cultural currents. Guerrero will then be joined in conversation with Olga Garay-English, former Executive Director of the Los Angeles Department of Cultural Affairs and celebrated cultural maven, who will address the issues from the perspective of arts enablers and the role they play in promoting innovation and cultural change.

Wednesday 29 October at 10 p.m.-12 a.m. EDT (New York) / 9 p.m.-11 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 7 p.m.-9 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles)
The Art of Community-Engaged Theatre

Is it possible that the future of theatre lies in our ability to be inclusive and expand our audiences by building bridges with and into our communities? Join us for a discussion with community artists and professionals who specialize in community-engaged art-making to share what’s current in the work. Topics will include looking at how mainstream theatre is shifting its relationship to community—with, for example, the ventures of the Public Works Project in New York and Dialogos at South Coast Repertory—as well as how the long term investment in theatres such as El Teatro Campesino, Teatro Jornaleros, and Cornerstone has empowered community in creating exciting and stimulating productions. We will discuss the idea of “art” and “mastery” in the context of this work and other topics such as overcoming the stigma of “community” theatre, when it becomes social work and defining aesthetics. Moderated by Juliette Carrillo and featuring: Laurie Woolery, Sara Guerrero, Kinan Valdez, Maria Elena Chavarria, and Leon Jorge Benitez.

Saturday 1 November at 7:30 p.m.-9:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 6:30 p.m.-8:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4:30 p.m.-6:30 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles)
Writing and Staging Stories of Violence

 

In this special panel conversation moderated by Tiffany Ana López, Professor of Theatre at the University of California at Riverside, four internationally recognized playwrights and performers discuss the process of writing and staging stories of violence. Some of the questions we will explore: How and why do playwrights see violence as a central theme for our work in Latina/o theatre? What particular dramaturgical challenges arise in creating stories of violence? How does aesthetics inform the writing and staging of the work? What specific concerns arise in presenting stories of violence to a live audience? What is the intent or hope in taking on the risk of provocation and discomfort? How does this work illustrate the vanguard of American and global theatre? Featuring: Luis Alfaro, Adelina Anthony, Migdalia Cruz, and Rickerby Hinds.

Sunday 2 November at 7:30 p.m.-9:30 p.m. EST (New York) / 6:30 p.m.-8:30 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 4:30 p.m.-6:30 p.m. PST (Los Angeles)
Engendering “Rebeldes”:  Exploring Radical Connections Between Gender, Arts Leadership, Aesthetics, and Organizational Models

It is said that the shortest distance between two points is a straight line, but women in the theatre have been exemplifying that a circular or creatively alternative approach to point B can pay off artistically and at the box office. We invite you to hear stories from some of these female trailblazers who have been rebelling against the norm and navigated new approaches to creating original work inside and outside of the institutional setting, expanding definitions of ensemble, and completely flipping the heralded linear three act play structure on its head.

Our exploration of these questions and more will begin with an intimate conversation between Diane Rodriguez, Associate Artistic Director (Center Theatre Group and President of the Theatre Communication Group Board), Evelina Fernandez (founding company member of Latino Theatre Company), Rosalba Rolón (Artistic Director of Pregones Theatre), and Josefina Lopez (Artistic Director of Casa 0101) as they share with us stories that exemplify the radical connections between their artistry, leadership, and organizations. Branching out from this centerpoint of our storytelling circle we will launch into an open forum where a mix of community members, Encuentro artists, and field leaders will share stories and ask questions of each other about what female arts leaders as still rebelling against, gender parity in the American Theatre, and the impact on your career of carving your own path in the arts. Featuring: Diane Rodriguez, Evelina Fernandez, Rosalba Rolón, and Josefina Lopez.

Wednesday 5 November at 10:30 p.m.-1 a.m. EST (New York) / 9:30 p.m.-12 a.m. CST (Chicago) / 7:30 p.m.-10 p.m. PST (Los Angeles)
80 Years of Ensemble Theatre—Celebrating El Teatro Campesino & Culture Clash

Up close dialogues with members of El Teatro Campesino and Culture Clash. During the 2014 LATC Encuentro at the Los Angeles Theatre Center, participants and the local community will have an opportunity to sit with two seminal U.S. theatre companies and hear about the challenges, inspirations, and break-throughs made during their long and successful careers. Audiences will also get a sneak peek at what is coming up next for both groups in Los Angeles in 2015. The event will open with a video retrospective of each group, and, if we encourage them, perhaps a moment or two of performance. But mostly we will hear from these individuals about how they made a life in the theatre together; all the while making an impact on America’s theatrical landscape. This salon will be moderated by Diane Rodriguez, a long time member of El Teatro Campesino, who has also performed with Culture Clash. Featuring: Representatives from El Teatro Campesino, ensemble members of Culture Clash—Richard Montoya, Ric Salinas, and Herbert Siguenza.

THE 2014 LATINA/O THEATRE COMMONS NATIONAL CONVENING
Thursday 6 November at 5:30 p.m. EST (New York) / 4:30 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 2:30 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles)
Encuentro 2014 Manifesto 

Hear the impetus behind Encuentro 2014. Latino Theater Company Artistic Director José Luis Valenzuela will share his “manifesto” for the festival and welcome the out-of-town guests to the Los Angeles Theatre Center. Be inspired by this vision and immerse yourself in the world of Encuentro 2014!

Thursday 6 November at 8:30 p.m. EST (New York) / 7:30 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 5:30 p.m. PST (Los Angeles)
Reciprocity and Independence: 30 Years of Latino Theater Company

As part of her TCG Fox Actor Fellowship, Evelina Fernandez and members of the Latino Theater Company will give an overview of their 28 year history and unveil the first phase of the Latino Theater Company Digital Archive Project. Learn how this ground-breaking ensemble has evolved from working in regional theatre to becoming an independent company and operators of the Los Angeles Theatre Center, while continuing to create work in a contemporary setting.

Friday 7 November at 12 p.m. EST (New York) / 11 a.m. CST (Chicago) / 9 a.m. PST (Los Angeles)
Reflection Session Day 1: Teatro Campesino, INTAR, Teatro Luna

 

In the tradition of the TENAZ morning feedback sessions, convening participants are invited to gather each day to discuss the plays viewed the evening prior in a constructive format that encourages open dialogue and artistic exchange. This morning’s session will focus on La Esquinita USA (El Teatro Campesino), Patience, Fortitude and Other Anti-depressants (INTAR), and Your Problem with Men (Teatro Luna). How do these three unique companies fit into the tapestry of Latina/o theatre in the USA? How has their presence shifted the Latina/o theatrical narrative, and what is the significance of their work in the canon today?

Friday 7 November at 10 p.m. EST (New York) / 9 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 7 p.m. PST (Los Angeles)
Growing Your Regional Alliance

 

Are you interested in starting a Latina/o Theatre Alliance in your region but aren’t sure where to begin? Perhaps you’re a member of your local alliance, but want to learn how to grow your group’s member base and services, or maybe you’re willing to share your group’s model for engaging and working together? Come talk to members of the Latino Theatre Alliance/LA and other alliances from around the country and share success stories, lessons learned and tag-teamed troubleshooting. 

Sunday 9 November at 6 p.m. EST (New York) / 5 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 3 p.m. PST (Los Angeles)
Co-created Devised Works Presentation

Over the four weeks of the Encuentro, LATC Artistic Director José Luis Valenzuela will divide the 100 Encuentro artists into ten new “creation labs.” These collaborations will result in ten short pieces that will be performed for the public as the closing performance of the Encuentro. Based on “inspiration packets” composed of poetry, visual art, and ethnographic sources, this performance will only be produced once, so join us for this historic presentation! 

Monday 10 November at 7:30 p.m. EST (New York) / 6:30 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 4:30 p.m. PST (Los Angeles)
Rebroadcast of 2014 Encuentro: Co-created Devised Works Presentation
HowlRound TV will rebroadcast the Co-created Devised Works Presentation on Monday, November 10th to watch parties across the country. Join Victory Gardens in Chicago, IL or the Martin E. Segal Theatre Center at CUNY New York for an evening of viewing, community, and conversation. If you are planning a watch party, and want it listed here, email tv@howlround.com with details. 

***

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). You can become a producer and co-produce with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRound on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First