Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Wednesday 15 May 2013 at 3:45 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 5:45 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 6:45 p.m. EDT (Baltimore) / 22:45 GMT / 11:45 p.m. BST (London).

Baltimore, MD, United States
Wednesday 15 May 2013

Add to Calendar

Expanding the African American Narrative panel at A Playwrights' Convening at CENTERSTAGE

Produced With
Wednesday 15 May 2013

 

Thumbnail

 

CENTERSTAGE in Baltimore presented a discussion with playwrights on “Expanding the African American Narrative,”livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network ahowlround.tv on Wednesday 15 May 2013 at 3:45 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 5:45 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 6:45 p.m. EDT (Baltimore) / 22:45 GMT / 11:45 p.m. BST (London). View a conversion into your local time.

Prior to the opening night performance of Beneatha’s Place by Artistic Director Kwame Kwei-Armah, join CENTERSTAGE from Baltimore for a discussion with playwrights on “Expanding the African American Narrative,” asking, Who are we tomorrow? Who were we yesterday? And who has the authority to enter the investigation?

Guest playwrights include:

  • Keith Josef Adkins

  • Lydia Diamond

  • Kirsten Greenidge

 

About Beneatha’s Place:
Kwame Kwei-Armah’s Beneatha's Place is the second half of the groundbreaking Raisin Cycle. This world premiere play, inspired by Lorraine Hansberry’s A Raisin in the Sun, continues the conversation that began in Clybourne Park. The play explores identity, leadership, and legacy through the story of one powerful African American woman, following Beneatha Younger far beyond that iconic Chicago living room, from 1959 to today, and from her home in Nigeria to her career at a California university.

 

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First