Maryland

The Latest

International Collaboration in TYA New Play Development
Essay

International Collaboration in TYA New Play Development

by Teresa A. Fisher
January 02, 2017
The Thanksgiving Play
Essay

The Thanksgiving Play

an interview with playwright Larissa FastHorse

by Deanie Vallone, Larissa FastHorse
November 23, 2016
Rolando Sanz Brings Andrew Lippa’s “Concept Opera” I Am Anne Hutchinson/ I Am Harvey Milk
Essay

Rolando Sanz Brings Andrew Lippa’s “Concept Opera” I Am Anne Hutchinson/ I Am Harvey Milk

by Marcina Zaccaria
June 16, 2016
International Collaboration in TYA New Play Development
Essay

International Collaboration in TYA New Play Development

02 January 2017

Teresa A. Fisher discusses International Playwrights’ Intensive, a new play development program that facilitates international collaboration for theatre for young audiences. 

The Thanksgiving Play
Essay

The Thanksgiving Play

an interview with playwright Larissa FastHorse

23 November 2016

Dramaturg Deanie Vallone talks with playwright Larissa FastHorse about The Thanksgiving Play, writing a play with all white characters, and the obligation artists and institutions have to their area’s Indigenous community.

Rolando Sanz Brings Andrew Lippa’s “Concept Opera” I Am Anne Hutchinson/ I Am Harvey Milk
Essay

Rolando Sanz Brings Andrew Lippa’s “Concept Opera” I Am Anne Hutchinson/ I Am Harvey Milk

16 June 2016

Marcina Zaccaria discusses Rolando Sanz’s role in producing and presenting the opera I Am Anne Hutchinson/I Am Harvey Milk by Andrew Lippa.

Hitting the Road
Essay

Hitting the Road

Shifting a Playwright’s Perspective

17 February 2016

Playwright Pat Gabridge describes the experience of seeing the same production of his play in Massachusetts and Maryland.

Your Guide to Theatre Education
Essay

Your Guide to Theatre Education

Towson University

10 October 2015

David Dudley interviews Naoko Maeshiba about the opportunities in Towson University’s MFA in Theatre Arts program. 

Pragmatic Pedagogy, or How I Learned Everything about Teaching from William James, Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr., and George Carlin
Essay

Pragmatic Pedagogy, or How I Learned Everything about Teaching from William James, Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr., and George Carlin

01 August 2015

Stephen Nunns shares his approach (or lack thereof) to pedagogy, which is often dynamic and performative.

My America Too; New Civil Rights Panel Discussion at Center Stage in Baltimore, Maryland—Sunday 13 December 2015
Video

My America Too; New Civil Rights Panel Discussion at Center Stage in Baltimore, Maryland—Sunday 13 December 2015

Center Stage in Baltimore, Maryland presented a panel discussion about new civil rights in conjunction with My America Toolivestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Sunday 13 December at 22:30 GMT (London) / 5:30 p.m. EST (New York) / 4:30 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 2:30 p.m. PST (Pacific). To participate in conversation, direct your comments on Twitter to @centerstage_md and use hashtag #AskMyA2.

Devising the Environment by Stephen Spotswood
Series

Devising the Environment by Stephen Spotswood

A record of the experience of teaching a devising class that would center on the environment.

2nd Annual Baltimore One-Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) at E.M.P. Collective in Baltimore—Sunday 9 February 2014
Video

2nd Annual Baltimore One-Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) at E.M.P. Collective in Baltimore—Sunday 9 February 2014

The One-Minute Play Festival and E.M.P. Collective presented the 2nd Annual Baltimore One-Minute Play Festival livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday 9 February at 5 p.m. PST/ 7 p.m. CST/ 8 p.m. EST.

Expanding the African American Narrative panel at A Playwrights' Convening at CENTERSTAGE in Baltimore—Wednesday 15 May 2013
Video

Expanding the African American Narrative panel at A Playwrights' Convening at CENTERSTAGE in Baltimore—Wednesday 15 May 2013

CENTERSTAGE in Baltimore presented a discussion with playwrights on “Expanding the African American Narrative,”livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Wednesday 15 May 2013 at 3:45 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 5:45 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 6:45 p.m. EDT (Baltimore) / 22:45 GMT / 11:45 p.m. BST (London). View a conversion into your local time.

Baltimore's One-Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) at EMP Collective—Sunday 10 February 2013
Video

Baltimore's One-Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) at EMP Collective—Sunday 10 February 2013

The One-Minute Play Festival and EMP Collective presented The 1st Baltimore One-Minute Play Festival livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday 10 February at 5 p.m. PST (San Francisco) / 7 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 8 p.m. EST (Baltimore).

19 New Plays on Art & Neurobiology at the Generous Company’s Gumbo Festival in Baltimore—Thursday 31 January 2013
Video

19 New Plays on Art & Neurobiology at the Generous Company’s Gumbo Festival in Baltimore—Thursday 31 January 2013

Generous Company in Baltimore, Maryland presented Gumbo, a six-night festival of new works from theater, visual arts, and music blurring the lines between art and neurobiology, livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Thursday 31 January 2013 at 4:30 p.m. PST (San Francisco) / 6:30 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 7:30 p.m. EST (New York).