Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page from Monday 18 January to Saturday 13 February 2021.

Canada
Monday 18 January - Saturday 13 February 2021

Level Up: The Dramaturgy of Digital Performance and Design

Engaging in meaningful conversations on digital tools in live performance

Monday 18 January - Saturday 13 February 2021

Associated Designers of Canada and ToasterLab presented the symposium Level Up: The Dramaturgy of Digital Performance and Design livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Monday 18 January to Saturday 13 February 2021.

Hosted by The Associated Designers of Canada, this symposium consists of a series of presentations and moderated discussions between presenters and attendees which will actively bring together collaborators from across the country in an online platform that is safe and without risk, an absolute necessity for the success of our Canadian performing arts ecology at this time.

All events are free to attend, and open to everyone, members of the ADC and non-members alike!

We are also encouraging all members and supporters who are not currently facing a financial hardship due to COVID-19 to consider making a donation to the ADC to help us in supporting and advocating for designers across the country.

Please see the schedule for more details on each session.

Monday 18 January

 

Opening Session

Build it yourself! An introduction to custom digital tools for live performance
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Tuesday 19 January

 

Digital rehearsal and remote performance spaces
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Wednesday 20 January

 

Contracts in a Digital Age
2 p.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 4 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 5 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Thursday 21 January

 

Beyond Reality
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Friday 22 January

 

The Pedagogy of Digital Creation
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Monday 25 January

 

In Your Face
12 p.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 2 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 3 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Wednesday 27 January

 

Demo: I AM ALAN TURING
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Thursday 28 January

 

emerging media, storytelling, and technology’s role in performance
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Friday 29 January

 

Moment Factory's The Legacy of Illuminations: human/nature
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Monday 1 February

 

Digital Presentation Formats and Taking Your Show Online
12 p.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 2 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 3 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Tuesday 2 February

 

Games, Performance, and Digital Placemaking
10 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 12 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 1 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Wednesday 3 February

Intellectual Property in a Digital Era

Thursday 4 February

Amelia Scott Presents: Porte Parole’s The assembly
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Friday 5 February

 

Performing ‘Live’
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Monday 8 February

 

Coyotes & Cheezies: The integration of animation into live theatre
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Wednesday 10 February

 

Converging Worlds: Where Game Design Meets Theatre
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Maziar Ghaderi Presents Playformance: The Synthesis of Cultural Intangible Movement & Interactive Technology
2 p.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 4 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 5 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Thursday 11 February

 

Grandpa drew stories with a lit cigarette AKA Illuminations from Article 11's Room series
2 p.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 4 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 5 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Friday 12 February

 

Pier: Asserting Breath in Projection Content Creation and Playback Systems
10 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 12 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 1 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

HEiST: Frequencies
12 p.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 2 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 3 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Saturday 13 February

 

ADC Artist Q&A

Symposium closing ceremony
2 p.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) /4 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 5 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First