Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Tuesday 15 May at 9 a.m. CDT (Austin, Texas) / 10 a.m. EDT (New York) / 2 p.m. GMT / 3 p.m. (London) / 4 p.m. (Berlin) / 12 a.m. Wednesday 16 May (Brisbane)

Austin, TX, United States
Tuesday 15 May 2012

Add to Calendar

A Transatlantic #RoseRage Rehearsal livestreamed by Hidden Room in Austin and Brisbane—Tuesday 15 May 2012

Produced With
Tuesday 15 May 2012

A rehearsal of Hidden Room Theatre's Rose Rage followed by a chat with the artistic team livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Tuesday 15 May 2012.

Austin's Hidden Room Theatre, Brisbane, Australia's Anywhere Festival in partnership with HowlRound TV invite you to enjoy a backstage sneak peek of the very first transatlantic rehearsal of Rose Rage. Simply click here to be whisked to a split screen of rehearsal originating from London and from Austin. Watch the Shakespeare sparks fly between actors who are working together for the first time. Then, stick around for a chat where the artistic team elaborates on the pitfalls and benefits of international collaboration—online and off. Use the Twitter hashtag #RoseRage to tweet your questions and say hello to the artists, and to your fellow worldwide viewers. Rose Rage, Edward Hall, and Roger Warren’s thrilling adaptation of Shakespeare’s Henry VI trilogy marks the inauguration of the Hidden Room’s Foreign Actor Exchange Program. Actors from the UK rehearse with actors in Austin via video teleconferencing before traveling to Texas to complete the international team.

The Hidden Room is taking an Original Practices approach to Rose Rage, employing period costumes, live musicians on period instruments, an all-male cast, and a bawdy, muscular delivery. Their last Original Practices Shakespeare production was honored with Austin Critic’s Table awards for Best Production of a Comedy, Best Leading Actor, and Best Director.

To watch, tune in on Tuesday 15 May at 9 a.m. CDT (Austin, Texas) / 10 a.m. EDT (New York) / 2 p.m. GMT / 3 p.m. (London) / 4 p.m. (Berlin) / 12 a.m. Wednesday 16 May (Brisbane) or calculate your own timezone here.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First