Event Has Passed

Two Days with Hans-Thies Lehmann at the Martin E. Segal Theatre Center in New York City—Monday 23 and Tuesday 24 April 2018

Thumbnail

The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center presents Two Days with Hans-Thies Lehmann livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Monday 23 and Tuesday 24 April.

Join us for two evenings with German theatre researcher and author Hans-Thies Lehmann. His highly influential publication, Postdramatic Theatre (Routledge, 2006), established the modern visage of avant-garde theatre by cataloguing and defining the tendencies and stylistic traits of experimental works since the end of the 1960s. Scholars and colleagues Marvin Carlson, Elinor Fuchs, Brandon Woolf, John Jesurun, Uwe Mengel, Molly Davies, Peter Eckersall, Jonathan Kalb, Carol Martin, Melissa Wansin Wong, and Frank Hentschker will join Lehmann in discussion throughout the sessions.

Monday 23 April

Postdramatic Theatre and the 21 Century
6:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 5:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 3:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)
Hans-Thies Lehmann

New Forms of Theatre – Conversation I
7:00 p.m. EDT (New York) / 6:00 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4:00 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)
Uwe Mengel, John Jesurun, Molly Davies & Hans-Thies Lehmann

Performance in the Age of Performance – Conversation II
7:20 p.m. EDT (New York) / 6:20 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4:20 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)
Bertie Ferdman, André Lepecki & Hans-Thies Lehmann

Dramaturgy and Asian Theatres – Conversation III
7:40 p.m. EDT (New York) / 6:40 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4:20 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)
Peter Eckersall, Melissa Wansin Wong & Hans-Thies Lehmann

Tuesday 24 April

On Tragedy
6:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 5:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 3:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)
Hans-Thies Lehmann

On Writing – Conversation I
7:00 p.m. EDT (New York) / 6:00 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4:00 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)
Elinor Fuchs, Jonathan Kalb & Hans-Thies Lehmann

Theater of the Real – Conversation II
7:20 p.m. EDT (New York) / 6:20 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4:20 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)
Marvin Carlson, Carol Martin & Hans-Thies Lehmann

German Theatre and the Giessen Institut – Conversation III
7:40 p.m. EDT (New York) / 6:40 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4:20 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)
Brandon Woolf, Frank Hentschker & Hans-Thies Lehmann

Special thanks to Richard Schechner and Yale University’s Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures (Katrin Trüstedt and Christian Kirchmeier).

Hans-Thies Lehmann is a professor emeritus for Theatre, Film, and Media Studies at the Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main from 1988 until he was given emeritus status. His publications include Bertolt Brecht’s Hauspostille–Text und kollektives Lesen (1978, with Helmut Lethen); Theater und MythosDie Konstitution des Subjekts im Diskurs der antiken Tragödie (1991); Postdramatisches Theater (1999, now a standard work and translated into 26 languages); Heiner Müller Handbuch (ed. with Patrick Primavesi, 2003); and Tragödie und dramatisches Theater (Routledge, 2013). Hans-Thies Lehmann first studied general and comparative literary studies in Berlin and studied for his doctorate with Peter Szondi until his death. After gaining his doctorate, he was a visiting professor at the Universiteit van Amsterdam from 1979 to 1982. From 1983 to 1988, he was a university assistant at the Institute for Applied Theatre Studies in Gießen, where he substantially contributed to establishing and shaping the course of study with colleague Andzej Wirth. As a university professor for theatre studies at the J. W. Goethe-Universität Frankfurt/Main he made a remarkable contribution in devising theatre, film, and music studies courses, as well as establishing a course on dramaturgy in the framework of the Hessische Theaterakademie. In addition to guest professorships in Paris (France), Kaunas (Lithuania), Kraków (Poland), and Virginia (USA), Lehmann also works as a dramaturg for Jossi Wieler, Peter Palitzsch, Christof Nel, Theodoros Terzopoulos, Jan Fabre, and produces his own stage projects. He is on the board of the Gesellschaft für Theaterwissenschaft and a member of the Deutsche Akademie der Künste in Berlin. Hans-Thies Lehmann lives in Berlin with theatre critic Helen Varopoulou.

 

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First