fbpx The 3rd Annual Boston One-Minute Play Festival at the Boston Playwrights' Theatre | HowlRound Theatre Commons

Livestreamed on this page Monday 6 January 2014 at 5 p.m. PST (Vancouver) / 7 p.m. CST (Austin) / 8 p.m. EST (Boston).

Boston, MA, United States
Monday 6 January 2014

Add to Calendar

The 3rd Annual Boston One-Minute Play Festival at the Boston Playwrights' Theatre

Monday 6 January 2014



The One-Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) and Boston Playwrights’ Theatre (BPT) presented The 3rd Annual Boston One-Minute Play Festival livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Monday 6 January 2014 at 5 p.m. PST (Vancouver) / 7 p.m. CST (Austin) / 8 p.m. EST (Boston).

To participate in discussion online, use Twitter hashtags #1MPF and #howlround. Follow @oneminuteplays, @playwrightsbpt, and @HowlRoundTV for updates.
Featuring Brand New One-Minute Plays by:
Barbara Blumenthal-Ehrlich, Jack Neary, Elisabeth Burdick, Steven Bogart, Bill Doncaster, Stephen Faria, Peter Floyd, Patrick Gabridge, Deirdre Girard, Rosanna Alfaro, Kirsten Greenidge, Israel Horovitz, Colleen Hughes, Dan Hunter, Emily Kaye Lazzaro, Christopher Lockheardt, K. Alexa Mavromatis, Walt McGough, James McLindon, Rick Park, John Shea, Matt Mayerchak, Donna Sorbello, Mwalim *7 (Prof MJ Peters), Heather Houston, Thom Dunn, Michael Bradford, Eleanor Burgess, David Valdes Greenwood, Tyler Monroe, Nina Louise Morrison, Lindsay Soson, Noah Tobin, Lila Rose Kaplan, Ginger Lazarus, Joyce Van Dyke, Obehi Janice, Clifford Odle, Cliff Blake, Robbi D’Allessandro, Mary Conroy, Shari D. Frost, Steve Barkhimer, Karmo Sanders, Payne Ratner, Terrence Kidd, Cassie M Seinuk, Ceelia Raker, James Ferguson, Jess Foster, John Greiner-Ferris, Fiona Kyle, Laura Neubauer, Max Mondi, Mike Meadors, & MJ Halberstadt.
Directed by:
Jeff Mosser, Anna Trachtman, Caitlin Lowans, Hatem Adell, James Peter Sotis, Lucy Gram, Megan Sandberg-Zakin, Megan Muller, Sam Lassman, & Vicki Schairer
Curated by:
Dominic D’Andrea


About Boston Playwrights’ Theatre:
Founded in 1981 at Boston University by Nobel Laureate Derek Walcott, Boston Playwrights’ Theatre is an award-winning professional theatre dedicated to new works. At the core of our five programs is the Playwriting MFA offered as part of Boston University’s prestigious Creative Writing Program. Our award-winning alumni have been produced in Regional and New York houses as well as in London’s West End, and our alumni productions have garnered many regional and Boston awards, including regular IRNE and Elliot Norton Awards for “Best New Script.” For more information visit: www.bostonplaywrights.org
About the One-Minute Play Festival Organization:
The One-­Minute Play Festival is an NYC-based theatre company, founded by producing artistic director Dominic D’Andrea. OMPF works in partnership with theatres and organizations in cities across the country who share missions devoted to new plays and/or a community-specific focus. In each city, OMPF creates a locally sourced playwright-focused community event, with the goal of promoting the spirit of radical inclusion by representing local playwrights of different age, gender, race, cultures, and points of career.

“When I started the OMPF almost seven years ago in New York, we did so out of a need to create a space for dialogue and artistic challenge. I had no idea our work would spread like a wild fire to communities across the country,” reflects Dominic D’Andrea, OMPF’s Founder and Artistic Director.

OMPF has partnered with theatres in Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, New Brunswick, Atlanta, Philadelphia, Washington, D.C., Baltimore, Boston, Miami, Minneapolis, and New York. Current and past partnerships include: Primary Stages, Victory Gardens Theatre, Cornerstone Theatre Company, INTAR Theatre, Boston Playwrights Theatre, Actor’s Express, InterAct Theatre, Mixed Blood, Passage Theatre, and others.

Some notable contributors to OMPF have included: David Henry Hwang, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Donald Margulies, Nilaja Sun, Lydia Diamond, Phillip Kan Gotanda, Michael John Garces, Kristoffer Diaz, Rajiv Joseph, Sam Hunter, Jose Rivera, Lisa Loomer, Craig Lucas, Greg Kotis, Michael John Garces, along with over 500 famous and emerging writers. For more information, visit oneminuteplayfestival.com.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events


Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First