Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Thursday 14 February 2019 at 10 a.m. EST (New York) / 9 a.m. CST (Chicago) / 7 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 15:00 UTC +0 (London) / 16:00 UTC +1 (Berlin)

New York City
Thursday 14 February 2019

The Art Part: A Two-Person Theatre Conference

with Todd London and Mark Valdez

Thursday 14 February 2019

Mark Valdez and Todd London created a two-person, livestreaming theatre conference that took place on Valentine’s Day to talk about the love of theatre, the art of the ensemble, the art of the playwright, the art of civic engagement, and the ways we carry artistic lineage and legacy into the future.

This was a way to explore questions they’ve been posing to each other over the years as colleagues and friends, questions not about survival or problems in the theatre, but questions about the art itself. This “conference,” then, is meant as a call to conversation, theirs and, we hope, yours, about the artform we love.

Livestreamed on the commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Thursday 14 February 2019.

Participate

Mark and Todd issued a challenge to all listeners to hold artistic conversations of their own, large or small, public or private, before 1 May 2019.  Please let us know if you’re taking the challenge and let us know when you’ve had your conversation.  Write us at theartpart@howlround.com.

Topics

Art & Love

10 a.m - 10:40 a.m. EST (New York) / 7 a.m. - 7:40 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 3 p.m. - 3:40 p.m. UTC (London)

 

Ensemble Practice/Group Art

11 a.m. - 11:40 a.m. EST (New York) / 8 a.m. - 8:40 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 4 p.m. - 4:40 p.m. UTC (London)

 

The Art of the Playwright

1 p.m. - 1:40 p.m. EST (New York) / 10 a.m. - 10:40 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 6 p.m. - 6:40 p.m. UTC (London)

 

The Aesthetics of Civic Engagement

2 p.m. - 2:40 p.m. EST (New York) / 11 a.m. - 11:40 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 7 p.m. - 7:40 p.m. UTC (London)

 

Legacy & Lineage in the Theatre

3 p.m. - 3:40 p.m. EST (New York) / 12 p.m. - 12:40 p.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 8 p.m. - 8:40 p.m. UTC (London)

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

2
Add Comment
Newest First