Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page from Thursday 13 June to Saturday 15 June 2019.

Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Thursday 13 June through Saturday 15 June 2019

FoldA

Festival of Live Digital Art

Thursday 13 June through Saturday 15 June 2019
folda conference poster

SpiderWebShow Performance presented events from foldA (Festival of Live Digital Art) livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Thursday 13 June to Saturday 15 June 2019.

foldA’s programming is structured to support artists creating theatre in a digital age.

Alpha — Performances in their earliest stages, ready for internal testing, but require audience feedback to spark the next stage of development.

Beta — Performances ready for public testing to refine the audience experience.

Go — Performances ready for production release. Audience input contributes to improvements and bug fixes just like your favourite app.

Schedule of Events

Thursday 13 June

US / CAN Exchange
7 a.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC -7) / 8 a.m. MDT (Calgary, UTC -6) / 9 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 10 a.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC -4)
Add to calendar

Hosted by Jamie Gahlon (HowlRound) and Michael Wheeler (SpiderWebShow)  

Eight artists from Turtle Island who integrate digital technologies into performance will share what they are working on right now, current problems, and areas of preoccupation. Hear from some of the leading innovators from either side of the US/Canada border.

Certified (Vancouver, BC)
5:30 p.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC -7) / 6:30 p.m. MDT (Calgary, UTC -6) / 7:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 8:30 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC -4)
Add to calendar

Comedian and certified insane person Jan Derbyshire turns audiences in Kingston and across the country into a mental health review board to help determine her current state of sanity. Come and humorously grapple with hefty questions like: What’s crazy? What isn’t crazy? Who decides? In this comic case, you do.

“Derbyshire is really something, tearing into her part like Bette Davis with Margo Channing in All About Eve. You’re not likely to forget Derbyshire’s any more than Davis’ Margo.” – Kevin Thomas (LA Times)

Credits:
Written and performed by Jan Derbyshire
Directed by Roy Surette

Friday 14 June

Breakfast Chat: Virtual and Augmented Reality and Live Performance
6 a.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC -7) / 7 a.m. MDT (Calgary, UTC -6) / 8 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 9 a.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC -4)
Add to calendar

Wojciech Markowski (Dream Adoption Society), and others TBA

An informal chat about the opportunities and challenges posed by integrating VR and AR technologies into live performance.

Climate Change CoDesign
12 p.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC-7) / 1 p.m. MDT (Calgary, UTC-6) / 2 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 3 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC-4)
Add to calendar

Stay tuned for details!

Saturday 15 June

Breakfast Chat: How Apps Work in Live Performance
6 a.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC -7) / 7 a.m. MDT (Calgary, UTC -6) / 8 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 9 a.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC -4)
Add to calendar

Alex McLean (Zuppa Theatre), Andrew Burke (Shindig Digital Constructions), and others TBA

An informal chat between artists and app developers who are making work together. An opportunity to compare notes, share strategies and answer questions.

Unsettling Dramaturgy: Crip and Indigenous Process Design in the Studio, on the Stage
10 a.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC -7) / 11 a.m. MDT (Calgary, UTC -6) / 12 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 1 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC -4)
Add to calendar

mia susan amir, DeLesslin “Roo” George-Warren & Collaborators

Unsettling Dramaturgy is an ongoing project bringing together Crip and Indigenous dramaturgs from across so-called Canada and the United States who work in theatre, dance, and experimental performance. Using digital platforms we gather to build relationships; to explore and document the critical convergences and divergences in our experiences and work; to amplify Crip and Indigenous aesthetics, ethics, practices, and leadership in our local, national and international performance ecologies; to push the conversations from inclusion to centring, from reconciliation to unsettling and decolonization.

Box 4901 (Toronto, ON)
5:30 p.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC -7) / 6:30 p.m. MDT (Calgary, UTC -6) / 7:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 8:30 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC -4)
Add to calendar

In 1992, novelist Brian Francis placed a personals ad in the newspaper. He received a number of responses but there were 13 letters he never responded to. Now, 26 years later, Brian has written replies to those letters. Featuring a cast of 13 local queer actors, Box 4901 is a hilarious, strange, sweet and awkward look back at how gay men used to connect.

Credits:
Written and Performed by Brian Francis
Directed and Co-Created by Rob Kempson
Produced by Stacey Norton
Lighting Design by Cosette Pin
Sound Design by Adrian Shepherd-Gawinski
Photo Credits Henry Chan

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First