Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Monday 14 July through Thursday 17 July 2014 Monday 14 July at 3:30 p.m. PDT (Vancouver)/ 4:30 p.m. MDT (Calgary)/ 5:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago)/ 6:30 p.m. EDT (New York)/ 22:30 GMT/ 11:30 p.m. BST (London)/ 8:30 a.m. AEST (Tues, July 15 in Sydney).

New York, NY, United States
Monday 14 July through Thursday 17 July 2014

Panel Discussions on Intellectual Property in Theatre

Produced With
Monday 14 July through Thursday 17 July 2014

 

Thumbnail

Samuel French, Inc in New York City presented four panel discussions for #RightsWeek: Protecting & Sharing Your Intellectual Property livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Monday 14 July through Thursday 17 July 2014.

What is the state of intellectual property? What are the rights of theatre artists and new work? The complete #RightsWeek series will include these four livestreamed panel discussions, five essays and blog posts on HowlRound, and live tweeting throughout the week including a real-time Twitter chat on Thursday 17 July.

To participate in these four livestreamed panel Q&A's, watch HowlRound.TV, follow @MrSamuelFrench, @HowlRound, and use hashtags #RightsWeek and #howlround. Alternatively, you can watch the livestreams and comment using Samuel French's Facebook page

 

Livestreaming Schedule

Owning Your Work
Monday 14 July at 3:30 p.m. PDT (Vancouver)/ 4:30 p.m. MDT (Calgary)/ 5:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago)/ 6:30 p.m. EDT (New York)/ 22:30 GMT/ 11:30 p.m. BST (London)/ 8:30 a.m. AEST (Tues, July 15 in Sydney)

Owning Your Work focuses on how writers, composers, directors, and designers protect their new work, as well address questions and concerns that arise during this process.

Moderator:
Howard Sherman (Arts Advocate and Writer)

Panelists:
Beth Blickers (Abrams Artists Agency)
Burke Brown and Lee Savage (Wingspace Theatrical Design)
Ralph Sevush (Dramatists Guild)

Hosted at New Dramatists.

 

 

Sharing Your Work
Tuesday 15 July at 3:30 p.m. PDT (Vancouver)/ 4:30 p.m. MDT (Calgary)/ 5:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago)/ 6:30 p.m. EDT (New York)/ 22:30 GMT/ 11:30 p.m. BST (London)/ 8:30 a.m. AEST (Wed, July 16 in Sydney).

Sharing Your Work focuses on how a writer or group of collaborative creators makes the decision to license their work, and what that process entails.

Moderator:
Morgan Jenness 

Panelists:
Hannah Bos and Paul Thureen (The Debate Society)
J. Michael DeAngelis and John P. Dowgin (The Porch Room)
Ronee Penoi (dog & pony dc)

Hosted at Lark Play Development Center.

 

 

Publishing Your Work
Wednesday 16 July at 3:30 p.m. PDT (Vancouver)/ 4:30 p.m. MDT (Calgary)/ 5:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago)/ 6:30 p.m. EDT (New York)/ 22:30 GMT/ 11:30 p.m. BST (London)/ 8:30 a.m. AEST (Thurs, July 17 in Sydney)

Publishing Your Work focuses on the many options that writers have to publish their works in today’s world—and how to ensure that their work is protected.

Moderator:
Amy Rose Marsh

Panelists:
Martin Denton (Indie Theater Now)
Sean Patrick Flahaven (Warner/Chappell Music)
Kait Kerrigan and Brian Lowdermilk (New Musical Theatre)
Gwydion Suilebhan (New Play Exchange)

Hosted at Dramatists Guild of America.

 

 

Piracy in the Digital Age
Thursday 17 July at 3:30 p.m. PDT (Vancouver)/ 4:30 p.m. MDT (Calgary)/ 5:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago)/ 6:30 p.m. EDT (New York)/ 22:30 GMT/ 11:30pm BST (London)/ 8:30 a.m. AEST (Fri, July 18 in Sydney)

Piracy in the Digital Age asks how we can define piracy in the digital age, as well discuss how our industry has adapted to control it, and how we can best protect our artists.

Moderator:
Isaac Butler

Panelists:

Bruce Lazarus and Brad Lohrenz (Samuel French)
Laura Penn (Stage Directors and Choreographers Society)
Steven Chaikelson (Columbia University)
Tori Keenan-Zelt (Kanjy), and more. 

Hosted at Samuel French.

 

 

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First