Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Sunday 17 May at 1 p.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 2 p.m. MDT (Calgary) / 3 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4 p.m. EDT (Montreal) / 20:00 GMT / 9 p.m. BST (London) / 10 p.m. CEST (Berlin) / 11 p.m. FET (Minsk).

New York City, NY, United States
Sunday 17 May 2015

Performance of Belarus Free Theatre’s Trash Cuisine 

Sunday 17 May 2015

 

Thumbnail

 

La MaMa presented a performance of Belarus Free Theatre's Trash Cuisine livestreamed from New York City on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday 17 May at 1 p.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 2 p.m. MDT (Calgary) / 3 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4 p.m. EDT (Montreal) / 20:00 GMT / 9 p.m. BST (London) / 10 p.m. CEST (Berlin) / 11 p.m. FET (Minsk).

In Twitter, use #trashcuisine, #howlround, and follow @LaMaMaETC, @HowlRoundTV, @bfreetheatre

Devised and performed by Belarus Free Theatre.

Directed by Nicolai Khalezin
Written by Nicolai Khalezin & Natalia Kaliada
Concept, stage direction, costumes, lights by Nicolai Khalezin & Natalia Kaliada

A continued collaboration with The Public Theater in support of Belarus Free Theatre.

Running time: 90 minutes, Performed in English

Trash Cuisine is a play about violence and, in particular, about the ability of society, a group or an individual to take the life of another. The play draws on the works of William Shakespeare, who often referenced capital punishment, and a variety of national cuisines in order to emphasize a local flavor of violence, endurance, life, and hope. Live music performed on stage complements a series of stories staged in a variety of ways, bringing them to a common denominator.

Livesteam production for HowlRound TV by CultureHub.

Read Jonathan Mandell’s HowlRound article about Trash Cuisine.

 

Thumbnail

 

About Belarus Free Theatre
Banned from performing in their home country, Belarus Free Theatre serves up food, music, dance, and Shakespeare as they share true stories from inmates, executioners, human rights lawyers, and families of the executed. This provocative and urgent show pierces the imagination with moments of the darkest humour as it challenges capital punishment in our contemporary world, where 95 countries still carry out the death penalty.

Belarus Free Theatre was founded in 2005 under Europe's last surviving dictatorship; the company is one of the most outspoken critics of Belarus’s repressive regime. Many company members have served time in prison, lost their jobs, gone into hiding or been exiled. Despite this, the company continues to develop award-winning work with the support of artists around the world.

Trash Cuisine Creative Team
Additional contributions by Stephanie Pan, Nastassia Shcherbak, Aleh Sidorchyk, Clive Stafford Smith, & Philippe Spall

Ensemble: Victoryia Biran, Kiryl Kanstantsinau, Siarhei Kvachonak, Esther Mugambi, Stephanie Pan, Pavel Radak-Haradnitski, Maryia Sazonava, Philippe Spall, & Arkadiy Yushin

Composer and musician: Arkadiy Yushin
Choreographer: Bridget Fiske
Additional music: Stephanie Pan
Lighting Designer: Andrew Crofts
Stage Manager: Svetlana Sugako
Assistant Director: Nadia Brodskaya

All food used during the show will be composted in collaboration with the NYC Compost Project hosted by the Lower East Side Ecology Center.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First