Taking Action
Essay

Taking Action

An Artist Becomes an Advocate

13 May 2018

Jessica Litwak, artistic director of the H.E.A.T Collective, explores the growing field of artist rights and safety, and talks about her dedication to “art of service,” the work that serves communities by facilitating creative personal and social change.

Why Theatre Matters to This Escaped Child Soldier
Essay

Why Theatre Matters to This Escaped Child Soldier

1 May 2015

The author reflects on the role of the performing arts in his own remarkable journey from Ugandan child soldier to performer and playwright.

Panel Discussion of Erik Ehn's Maria Kizito from the first annual Kampala International Theatre Festival in Uganda—Sunday 30 November 2014
Video

Panel Discussion of Erik Ehn's Maria Kizito from the first annual Kampala International Theatre Festival in Uganda—Sunday 30 November 2014

Kampala International Theatre Festival presented a panel discussion about Erik Ehn's Maria Kizito  livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday 30 November at 9:30 a.m. EST (New York) / 14:30 GMT (London) / 17:30 EAT (Kampala). In Twitter, use #howlround#KITF2014, and follow @HowlRoundTV

Performance & Discussion of Maria Kizito with ArtSpot/Erik Ehn in New Orleans—Sunday 16 November 2014
Video

Performance & Discussion of Maria Kizito with ArtSpot/Erik Ehn in New Orleans—Sunday 16 November 2014

ArtSpot Productions and Soulographie presented a Ugandan/American production of Erik Ehn's Maria Kizito directed by Emily Mendelsohn livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday 16 November at 1 p.m. PST (San Francisco) / 3 p.m. CST (New Orleans) / 4 p.m. EST (New York). For more information on the production visit www.mariakizitoneworleans.org.