Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Saturday 6 August to Sunday 7 August 2016 9:45 a.m. EDT (New York) / 8:45 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 13:45 / 2:45 p.m. BST (London) / 15:45 CEST (Berlin)

Ashfield, MA, United States
Saturday 6 August to Sunday 7 August 2017

Art & Survival 2016 at Double Edge Theatre

Produced With
Saturday 6 August to Sunday 7 August 2017
photo of panelists in ashfield
Photo by David Weiland.

Double Edge Theatre in rural Ashfield, Massachusetts presented the gathering Art & Survival 2016 livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Saturday 6 August to Sunday 7 August. 

Share your thoughts with #ArtandSurvival16​ in Twitter @doubleedgethtrFacebook, and Instagram @doubleedgetheatre.

Art & Survival is a series of gatherings focused on collective thinking and dialogue to investigate live art’s influence on human evolution and movement building.

Art & Survival 2016 has three areas in mind. The first is how mystical, esoteric, and contemplative thought play a role in the development of vital artistic practice and culture building. From Kabbalah to Carnival, mystical and esoteric thought connects to evolutionary artistic practice. The second lens examines connections to land in relation to artistic, community, and ethical practice. From ecology to agriculture, art to ancestry, first nations history to site-specific art, we will focus on land narratives in times of climate change. The third lens is concerned with movements that affect shifts in social imagination. As individuals and organizations, is there a way to affect change in collective consciousness towards particular societal norms/behaviors?

Co-Curated by Matthew Gassman & Nick Slie

Art and Survival is supported by New England Foundation for the Arts, Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, Alternate Roots, and The Ethics and Common Good Project, with additional support from HowlRound.

Livestream schedule

Saturday 6 August:

Lens #1: Esoteric/Mysticism
9:45 a.m.-11:15 a.m. EDT (New York) / 8:45 a.m.-10:15 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 13:45-15:15 GMT / 2:45 p.m.-4:15 p.m. BST (London) / 15:45-17:15 CEST (Berlin)

 

Lens #2: Land Narratives
11:45 a.m.-1:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 10:45 a.m.-12:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 8:45 a.m.-10:30 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 15:45-17:30 GMT / 4:45 p.m.-6:30 p.m. BST (London) / 17:45-19:30 CEST (Berlin)

 

Talk by David Bollier, author of Think Like a Commoner and Patterns of Commoning.
2:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 1:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 11:30 a.m. PDT (Pacific) / 18:30 GMT / 7:30 p.m. BST (London) / 20:30 CEST (Berlin)

 

Lens #3: Social Movements/Imagination
3:10 p.m.-4:45 p.m. EDT (New York) / 2:10 p.m.-3:45 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 12:10 p.m.-1:45 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 19:10-20:45 GMT / 8:10 p.m.-9:45 p.m. BST (London) / 21:10-22:45 CEST (Berlin)

 

Sunday 7 August:

Weaving of the Dialogues
11 a.m.-1 p.m. EDT (New York) / 10 a.m.-12 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 15:00-17:00 GMT / 4 p.m.-6 p.m. BST (London) / 17:00-19:00 CEST (Berlin)

 

Wrap up for the day

 

 

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First