fbpx Culturebot.org Panel Conversation: Performance and Context: The Black Box and The White Cube—Under the Radar at the Public Theater | HowlRound Theatre Commons

Livestreamed on this page Sunday 8 January 2012 at 1pm EST (New York) / 10am PST (San Francisco) / 6pm GMT (London) / 7pm CET (Paris).

New York, NY, United States
Sunday 8 January 2012

Add to Calendar

Culturebot.org Panel Conversation: Performance and Context: The Black Box and The White Cube—Under the Radar at the Public Theater

Produced With
Sunday 8 January 2012

Under the Radar presented Culturebot Conversations on Contemporary Performance: "Performance and Context: The Black Box and The White Cube" livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Sunday 8 January 2012 at 1pm EST (New York) / 10am PST (San Francisco) / 6pm GMT (London) / 7pm CET (Paris).

In today’s cultural landscape, contemporary artists are continuously blurring the lines between theater, dance, installation, performance art, visual art, and live art. The work’s context comes from who curates it, where it happens, who writes about it and who is its intended audience. Performance is perceived and evaluated differently when presented in a gallery or museum as opposed to a theatre. Why is that? What does it mean? And how can we move beyond the Black Box vs. the White Cube and devise new frameworks for genre-defying performance?

 

 

Participants:
Philip Bither (Senior Curator of Performing Arts, Walker Art Center)
RoseLee Goldberg (Founding Director and Curator, Performa)
Liz Magic Laser (Artist)
David Levine (Artist)

RECOMMENDED READING:
Claire Bishop, “Unhappy Days In The Art World” (Brooklyn Rail)
Andrew Horwitz, “Visual Art Performance vs. Contemporary Performance” (Culturebot)

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First