Event Has Passed

The Hybrid Art Summit in Austin, Texas—Friday 4 May and Saturday 5 May 2012

The Hybrid Art Summit 2012 events at the Fusebox Festival in Austin, Texas were livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Friday 4 May and Saturday 5 May 2012.

Streamed live on HowlRound TV, The Hybrid Art Summit 2012 was a two-day event during the Fusebox Festival in Austin, Texas exploring cross-disciplinary creative practice and its relevance to contemporary culture. This series of spirited discussions, round-tables, presentations, and performances, focused on three primary areas of investigation: community/collaboration, criticism, and art + technology.

These events were made possible as part of the Fusebox Festival in partnership with Art Alliance Austin, Big Medium, Culturebot (NYC), and ‘Bout What I Sees.

The following is the full livestream schedule:

Friday, May 4

Art + Tech at 9 a.m.-10 a.m. PDT / 11 a.m.-12 p.m. CDT / 12 p.m.-1 p.m. EDT / 16:00-17:00 GMT / 17:00-18:00 BST / 18:00-19:00 CET

Wayne Ashley (FuturePerfect) and Fusebox Artistic Director Ron Berry unveil their plans for an art + technology platform in Austin and discuss some of the key ideas and questions being explored in this arena today.

Culturebot Conversation: Performance and Context, The Black Box and The White Cube at 10:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m. PDT / 12:30 p.m.-1:30 p.m. CDT / 1:30 p.m.-2:30 p.m. EDT / 17:30-18:30 GMT / 18:30-19:30 BST / 19:30-20:30 CET

In today’s cultural landscape, contemporary artists are continuously blurring the lines between theatre, dance, installation, performance art, visual art, and live art. The work’s context comes from who curates it, where it happens, who writes about it and who is its intended audience. Performance is perceived and evaluated differently when presented in a gallery or museum as opposed to a theatre. Why is that? What does it mean? And how can we move beyond the Black Box vs. the White Cube and devise new frameworks for genre-defying performance? Culturebot and Fusebox bring together artists, curators, and critics to discuss this hot-button topic.

Check out the following links for more background and reference:
Andy Horwitz, "Visual Art Performance vs. Contemporary Performance" Claire Bishop, "Unhappy Days in the Art World" Culturebot Conversations at Under the Radar, “Performance and Context: The Black Box and The White Cube” “Performance and Context: The Black Box and The White Cube"

Open Source: Call for Collaboration (Community & Collaboration) at 12:00 p.m.-1:00 p.m. PDT / 2:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. CDT / 3 p.m.-4 p.m. EDT / 19:00-20:00 GMT / 20:00-21:00 BST / 21:00-22:00 CET

An open call for cross-disciplinary collaborations, testing models for creating work. Does a call for collaboration work?  Does it produce quality opportunities?  In a new format to the Summit, Community & Collaboration kicks off with a call to action.

Saturday, May 5:

Community & Collaboration: Culturebot's Hair of the Dog Performance Potlatch at 9:00 a.m.-10:15 PDT / 11:00 a.m.-12:15 p.m. CDT / 12:00 p.m.-1:15 p.m. EDT / 16:00-17:15 GMT / 17:00-18:15 BST / 18:00-19:15 CET

As much as we all love going to shows, we also love going out after the show with friends to talk about what we saw, what we think, how we do what we do, and who's doing what with whom. Culturebot's Hair of the Dog Performance Potlatch re-creates the post-show hang-out as performance event, bringing together visiting artists with members of Austin's arts community to discuss what it means to create work in a given place: what are the advantages, what are the challenges, and what can we learn from each other? Inspired  by Lois Weaver's The Long Table, a formalized performance-discussion as an "experiment in participation and public engagement," this event contextualizes a shared meal as a public forum, encouraging informal conversations on serious topics. Guests are invited to participate, watch, or both. Waffles will be served. And booze.

Criticism at 10:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m. PDT / 12:30 p.m.-1:30 p.m. CDT / 1:30 p.m.-2:30 p.m. EDT / 17:30-18:30 GMT / 18:30-19:30 BST / 19:30-20:30 CET

Salvador Castillo interviews artist Wanda Raimundi-Ortiz about her work as a visual artist creating personas to instigate critical conversations. Special attention will address some of the overarching themes of the “Ask Chuleta” YouTube series.

Culturebot presents The Impersonation Game at 12:00 p.m.-1 p.m. PDT / 2:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. CDT / 3:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m. EDT / 19:00-20:00 GMT / 20:00-21:00 BST / 21:00-22:00 CET

In The Impersonation Game, three separate artists will be invited onstage to impersonate the Anglo-German arts collective Gob Squad. Answering questions and defending choices based only on having seen the show and their own artistic practices, the impersonators confront audiences with a diversity of ways to approach a work, breaking down traditional critical authority and providing audiences a diversity of ways to look at the experience of Super Night Shot. Developed by European arts collective Everybody's, The Impersonation Game proposes to emancipate the spectator from the tyranny of critical interpretation by defending the validity of multiple experiences.

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). You can become a producer and co-produce with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRound on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First