Event Has Passed

The PEN World Voices: International Play Festival 2016 at The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center in New York—Wednesday 27 April - Friday 29 April 2016

Thumbnail

The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center presented PEN World Voices: International Play Festival 2016 livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Wednesday 27 April to Friday 29 April. On Twitter use #HowlRound.

As part of the 2016 PEN World Voices Festival of International Literature, the Segal Center will showcase play readings by eight of the world’s most respected dramatists. With each writer hailing from a different world region as classified by the United Nations, the International Play Festival generates a conversation on art, politics, dreams, war, and philosophy, meant to give American audiences a rich awareness of the greater global dialogue. All readings will be followed by discussion with the playwright. 

The PEN World Voices: International Play Festival 2016 has been made possible by the support of Marvin Carlson, Sidney E. Cohn Chair, The Graduate Center, CUNY, and Susan and Jack Rudin.

The PEN World Voices: International Play Festival was conceived, created, and curated by Frank Hentschker since 2007 in collaboration with PEN World Voices Festival. The 2016 Festival is produced by Brooke Christensen (New York) in collaboration with Frank Hentschker and Antje Oegel. Co-curated by Antje Oegel.

The PEN World Voices Festival of International Literature animates New York City for a week each spring with a kaleidoscopic window into international literature and culture, inviting you to share ideas, find inspiration, and create dialogue and debate across cultural and national borders.

The 2016 PEN World Voices takes place from Monday, April 25 through Sunday, May 1, 2016. It will include a regional focus on Mexico and its diaspora. Founded by Michael Roberts, Esther Allen, and Salman Rushdie in the aftermath of September 11, 2001, PEN World Voices is the only international literary festival in the world with a human rights focus. It attracts the world’s best-known writers and has garnered broad global acclaim as one of the world’s premier literary events. Since its founding 12 years ago, PEN World Voices has presented more than 1,500 writers and artists from 110 countries, speaking 56 languages.

Laszlo Jakab Orsos, Director, PEN World Voices Festival, PEN America; Kim Chan, General Manager.

 

Livestream Schedule:

Wednesday 27 April 2016


4 p.m. EDT (New York) / 1 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 20:00 GMT / 9 p.m. BST (London) / 22:00 CEST (Berlin):
+51 Aviación, San Borja
Written by Yudai Kamisato (Japan) & Translated by Aya Ogawa
Directed by Sarah Hughes 

6 p.m. EDT (New York) / 3 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 22:00 GMT / 11 p.m. BST (London) / 00:00 CEST Thursday, April 28 (Berlin):
My Son Just Walks A Bit Slower
Written by Ivor Martinić (Croatia) & Translated by Tomislav Kuzmanović
Directed by Shira Milikowsky 

8 p.m. EDT (New York) / 5 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 00:00 GMT Thursday, April 28 / 1 a.m. BST Thursday, April 28 (London) / 02:00 CEST Thursday, April 28 (Berlin):
Common Ground
Written by Yael Ronen (Israel) & Translated by Frank Hentschker with Lily Akerman and Antje Oegel
Directed by Charlotte Brathwaite 

 

Thursday 28 April 2016
4 p.m. EDT (New York) / 1 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 20:00 GMT / 9 p.m. BST (London) / 22:00 CEST (Berlin):
The Reunion
Written by Trinidad González (Chile) & Translated by Alexandra Ripp
Directed by Tony Torn

6 p.m. EDT (New York) / 3 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 22:00 GMT / 11 p.m. BST (London) / 00:00 CEST Friday, April 29 (Berlin): 
≈ [Almost Equal To]
Written by Jonas Hassen Khemiri (Sweden) & Translated by Rachel Willson-Broyles
Directed by Dan Rothenberg

8 p.m. EDT (New York) / 5 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 00:00 GMT Friday, April 29 / 1 a.m. BST Friday, April 29 (London) / 02:00 CEST Friday, April 29 (Berlin):
Dara
Adapted by Tanya Ronder from Shahid Nadeem’s play (Pakistan)
Directed by Oskar Eustis

 

Friday 29 April 2016


5 p.m. EDT (New York) / 2 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 21:00 GMT / 10 p.m. BST (London) / 23:00 CEST (Berlin):
Fishers of Hope
Written and directed by Lara Foot (South Africa) 

7:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 4:30 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 23:30 GMT / 12:30 a.m. BST Saturday, April 30 (London) / 01:30 CEST Saturday, April 30 (Berlin):
Mestiza Power
Written by Conchi León (Mexico) & Translated by Virginia Grise
Directed by Debbie Saivetz

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). You can become a producer and co-produce with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRound on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First