fbpx 2022 TCG National Conference: Pittsburgh | HowlRound Theatre Commons

Livestreamed on this page from Thursday 16 June to Saturday 18 June 2022.

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Thursday 16 June to Saturday 18 June 2022

2022 TCG National Conference: Pittsburgh

Redefining Our Art. Transforming Our Practices. Tending to Our People.

Thursday 16 June to Saturday 18 June 2022

Theatre Communications Group (TCG) presented the 2022 TCG National Conference: Pittsburgh livestreaming on the commons-based, peer-produced HowlRound TV network from Thursday 16 June to Saturday 18 June 2022.

From 15-18 June 2022, as we enter our seventh decade of serving the theatre field, TCG joins with theatremakers in Pittsburgh⁠—a city that TCG also claims as its first home⁠—to host our first hybrid National Conference, embracing the duality of both in-person and virtual programming. Whether you join us on the ground or online, you’ll be part of a single conference community on distinct but converging paths of content: the virtual experience from 15-16 June and the in-person experience from 16-18 June in Pittsburgh.

 

Thursday 16 June

Making Home: Contemporary and Devised Performance in Pittsburgh
2 p.m.-3:15 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 4 p.m.-5:15 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 5 p.m.-6:15 p.m. EDT (Pittsburgh, UTC -4)
This session gathers Pittsburgh-based theatre artists Lyam B. Gabel and Adil Mansoor for a conversation about the intersections of their work, the infrastructures of performance-making in Pittsburgh, and how their work radically creates space for diverse expressions of self. Moderated by Chanel Blanchett, programming manager at Kelly Strayhorn Theater, the discussion will introduce attendees to the work of these artists and illuminate processes and strategies for local and regional performance artists to make work both in the Steel City and on the road.

 

Friday 17 June

THIS IS NOT A DRILL: Climate Just Futures
6:30 a.m.-7:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 8:30 a.m.-9:30 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 9:30 a.m.-10:30 a.m. EDT (Pittsburgh, UTC -4)

Groundwater Arts co-founders Annalisa Dias and Tara Moses and No Dream Deferred NOLA’s founding artistic director Lauren Turner will lead a discussion to connect the dots between the climate crisis and movements for racial justice.

 

Together We Rise: Dream Session for a Queer American Theatre
7:45 a.m. PDT-9:15 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 9:45 a.m.-11:15 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 10:45 a.m.-12:15 p.m. EDT (Pittsburgh, UTC -4)

What can we do to build stronger representation of queer stories on our stages? Galvanized by the momentum of a working group and community event initiated between Rattlestick Theatre, National Queer Theater, and the Dramatists Guild, this conference session will explore the dramaturgy of queer performance, identify the barriers between queer stories and commercial stages, and engage with audience members to formulate an action plan together. Panelists will include Ali Hoefnagel, Basil Kreimendahl, Roger Q. Mason, Joey Reyes, and Gaven Trinidad. Moderated by the Director of Outreach & Institutional Partnerships for the Dramatists Guild, Jordan Stovall.

 

Special Session: The Meaning of Juneteenth and August Wilson’s 100-Year Journey to Freedom
11 a.m.-12:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 1 p.m.-2:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 2 p.m.-3:30 p.m. EDT (Pittsburgh, UTC -4)
With Juneteenth days away during the first year in which it's been recognized as a national holiday, this panel of educators and theatre artists—including some from the cast and creative team of Pittsburgh Public Theatre's current show Two Trains Running—will explore the significance of Juneteenth as a holiday and how August Wilson’s Century Cycle reveals the long, complex struggle of Black people to gain freedom in America. Panelists will also offer their experiences and perspectives on the function of theatre in liberation movements and open up to the room for questions and ideas.

 

 

Saturday 18 June

American Theatre Offscript Podcast Live
8:30 a.m.-9:45 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 10:30 a.m.-11:45 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 11:30 a.m.-12:45 p.m. EDT (Pittsburgh, UTC -4)
Join the audience for a live edition of American Theatre’s Offscript podcast, where the editors will talk to longtime local arts journalist Sharon Eberson about the Pittsburgh theatre scene and be joined by two of its distinguished leaders: Monteze Freeland, co-artistic director of City Theatre, and Karla Boos, artistic director of Quantum Theatre.

 

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based, peer-produced, open-access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world’s performing-arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and develop our knowledge commons collectively. Anyone can participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal. View the video archive of past events.

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First