Gender Politics

Writing about and video of theatre pieces that deal with gender, as well as gender issues in the field as a whole.

The Latest

What I Learned About Gender Parity and Racial Diversity from Running a Global Participatory Initiative
Essay

What I Learned About Gender Parity and Racial Diversity from Running a Global Participatory Initiative

by Chantal Bilodeau
24 March 2019
Howlround Theatre Commons
From the World Theatre Map
Boy Writes Girl
Series

Boy Writes Girl

This blog series analyzes the sanctified “Great Female Roles” written by men, and the patterns in which male playwrights craft female characters from myth, history, current events, or whole cloth.

Conversation: Exploring the Difference between Real and Imagined Bodies on Stage at ArtsEmerson in Boston—Tuesday 13 October 2015
Video

Conversation: Exploring the Difference between Real and Imagined Bodies on Stage at ArtsEmerson in Boston—Tuesday 13 October 2015

 

ArtsEmerson in Boston presented a public dialogue Exploring the Difference between Real and Imagined Bodies on Stage livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Tuesday 13 October at 4 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 6 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 7 p.m. EDT (New York) / 23:00 GMT. 

Women Playwrights International Conference in Cape Town South Africa
Series

Women Playwrights International Conference in Cape Town South Africa

Aphra Behn from Guerilla Girls On Tour reports on the 2015 Women Playwrights International Conference in Cape Town, South Africa.

Beyond the Hashtag—a conversation on using art and technology to combat the criminalization of our communities at the Ford Foundation in New York—Tuesday 15 September 2015
Video

Beyond the Hashtag—a conversation on using art and technology to combat the criminalization of our communities at the Ford Foundation in New York—Tuesday 15 September 2015

The Ford Foundation hosted Beyond the Hashtag, a conversation on using art and technology to combat the criminalization of our communities livestreamed on the commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Tuesday 15 September at 7 p.m. EDT (New York) / 6 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 23:00 GMT. 

Interview of the 2015 Tony-Award Winning Playwright Lisa Kron for the Launch of the Women’s Voices Theater Festival in Washington DC—Tuesday 8 September 2015
Video

Interview of the 2015 Tony-Award Winning Playwright Lisa Kron for the Launch of the Women’s Voices Theater Festival in Washington DC—Tuesday 8 September 2015

 

The Women’s Voices Theater Festival in Washington, DC—the largest collaboration of theatre companies working simultaneously to produce original works by female writers in history—presented the livestreaming of its official launch on the commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Tuesday 8 September at 7 p.m. EDT (New York) / 6 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 23:00 GMT / Wednesday 9 September at 9 a.m. AEST (Sydney).

The Sixth Annual Lilly Awards Ceremony, hosted by Tony Award Nominee Lisa Kron in New York—Monday 1 June 2015—#lillyawards
Video

The Sixth Annual Lilly Awards Ceremony, hosted by Tony Award Nominee Lisa Kron in New York—Monday 1 June 2015—#lillyawards

The Lilly Awards Foundation presented the Sixth Annual Lilly Awards Ceremony hosted by Tony Award nominee Lisa Kron livestreamed on the global commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Monday 1 June at 2 p.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 4 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 5 p.m. EDT (New York) / 21:00 GMT / 10 p.m. BST (London).

History Matters/Back to the Future's Judith Barlow Prize Award Presentation & Play Reading—Sunday 3 May 2015
Video

History Matters/Back to the Future's Judith Barlow Prize Award Presentation & Play Reading—Sunday 3 May 2015

History Matters/Back to the Future's Judith Barlow Prize Award Presentation & Play Reading livestreamed from New York City on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday 3 May at 3 p.m. EDT (New York) / 2 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 12 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 19:00 GMT (London). To participate on Twitter, use hashtag #JudithBarlowPrize and direct your questions to @History2Future. Additionally, follow @HowlRoundTV for updates.

Equity in Theatre Symposium from The Theatre Centre in Toronto—Monday 27 April 2015
Video

Equity in Theatre Symposium from The Theatre Centre in Toronto—Monday 27 April 2015

 

Equity in Theatre and The Theatre Centre in Toronto, Canada presented the opening and closing panels on the state of equity in Canada theatre at Equity in Theatre’s Symposium, a full-day event tackling underrepresentation and gender inequities in the theatre industry livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Monday 27 April 2015. 

365 Women a Year Project for World Theatre Day 2015 with NITE Corp—Friday 27 March 2015
Video

365 Women a Year Project for World Theatre Day 2015 with NITE Corp—Friday 27 March 2015

The New International Theatre Experience (NITE) presents a program of talks, readings, and presentations to celebrate World Theatre Day 2015 livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Friday 27 March.

Sliver of a Full Moon, A Play About Justice for Native Women at Yale Law School in New Haven—Tuesday 31 March 2015
Video

Sliver of a Full Moon, A Play About Justice for Native Women at Yale Law School in New Haven—Tuesday 31 March 2015

Yale Law School presented a reading of Sliver of a Full Moon, the powerful play written by playwright Mary Kathryn Nagle, from the Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma, and Mohegan Director Madeline Sayet livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Tuesday 31 March at 6:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 5:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4:30 p.m. MDT (Denver) / 3:30 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 2:30 p.m. AKDT (Anchorage). 

Gender Power and Politics Series by MJ Kaufman
Series

Gender Power and Politics Series by MJ Kaufman

MJ Kaufman begins a new blog series, exploring questions of gender and parity in the world of performance.

Beyond Angry Lesbians and Gay Best Friends: Writing Gender and Sexuality in the 21st Century at Dramatists Guild in New York—Tuesday 25 November 2014
Video

Beyond Angry Lesbians and Gay Best Friends: Writing Gender and Sexuality in the 21st Century at Dramatists Guild in New York—Tuesday 25 November 2014

Dramatists Guild of America presented the conversation Beyond Angry Lesbians and Gay Best Friends: Writing Gender and Sexuality in the 21st Century livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Tuesday 25 November 25at 2:30 p.m. PST (Los Angeles)/ 4:30 p.m. CST (Chicago)/ 5:30 p.m. EST (New York)/ 22:30 GMT (London). 

Transgender Series
Series

Transgender Series

A series from trans theatre artists that highlight diverse stories of a trans community of practicing artists working to create visibility in the theatre and the world.

Female Playwrights ONSTAGE Project at Little Black Dress INK in Los Angeles—Sunday 18 May 2014
Video

Female Playwrights ONSTAGE Project at Little Black Dress INK in Los Angeles—Sunday 18 May 2014

Little Black Dress INK, Los Angeles presented its 2014 Female Playwrights ONSTAGE Project livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday 18 May at 12 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) /2 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 3 p.m. EDT (Toronto).

Defining Gender Parity Town Hall at StageSource in Boston—Saturday 26 April 2014
Video

Defining Gender Parity Town Hall at StageSource in Boston—Saturday 26 April 2014

StageSource, Boston presented the Defining Gender Parity Town Hall livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Saturday 26 April at 8 a.m. PDT/ 10 a.m. CDT/ 11 a.m. EDT/ 15:00 GMT/ 4 p.m. BST/ 17:00 CEST.

Conversation about Gender & Power in David Ives’ Venus in Fur at Goodman Theatre in Chicago—Sunday 16 March 2014
Video

Conversation about Gender & Power in David Ives’ Venus in Fur at Goodman Theatre in Chicago—Sunday 16 March 2014

Goodman Theatre in Chicago presents an Artist Encounter for David Ives’ play, Venus in Fur, featuring director Joanie Schultz, livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday 16 March at 3 p.m. PDT/ 5 p.m. CDT/ 6 p.m. EDT/ 22:00 GMT.

Aristotle's Impact on Gender Parity, Playwriting, and Production panel at Rogue Machine Theatre in Los Angeles—Tuesday 10 December 2013
Video

Aristotle's Impact on Gender Parity, Playwriting, and Production panel at Rogue Machine Theatre in Los Angeles—Tuesday 10 December 2013

Rogue Machine Theatre in Los Angeles presents "Aristotle was a Man!", a panel discussion unpacking the assumptions made by the original dramaturg regarding dramatic structure and discuss the long term impact on today's playwriting, production, and gender parity livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Tuesday 10 December at 11 a.m. PST / 1 p.m. CST / 2 p.m. EST / 19:00 GMT. To participate in this discussion, direct your comments on Twitter @RogueMachineLA and use #howlround.

Gender Parity
Series

Gender Parity

A discussion and response to the call for better gender parity in theatre.

Panels on Gender & Race in the New Play Sector at XX PlayLab Festival in Boston—Saturday 23 March - Sunday 24 March 2013
Video

Panels on Gender & Race in the New Play Sector at XX PlayLab Festival in Boston—Saturday 23 March - Sunday 24 March 2013

Company One and the BCA presented panels on gender and race in the new play sector livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Saturday 23 March and Sunday 24 March 2013.

Women Writers Taking Agency in the American Theatre Panel at Boston Playwrights' Theatre in Boston, MA—Wednesday 6 March 2013
Video

Women Writers Taking Agency in the American Theatre Panel at Boston Playwrights' Theatre in Boston, MA—Wednesday 6 March 2013

Sleeping Weazel and Boston Playwrights’ Theatre presented a panel on women writers taking agency in the American theatre livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Wednesday 6 March 2013 at 9 a.m. PST / 11 a.m. CST / 12 p.m. EST / 17:00 GMT.

League of Professional Women in Theatre 
Series

League of Professional Women in Theatre 

An examination of theatremaking as a collaboration between HowlRound and the League of Professional Theatre Women.

A Female Look into Theatre in the North Carolina Triangle with the Ladies of Triangle Theatre in North Carolina—Sunday 15 July 2012
Video

A Female Look into Theatre in the North Carolina Triangle with the Ladies of Triangle Theatre in North Carolina—Sunday 15 July 2012

Ladies of Triangle Theatre (LoTT) discussed the state of theatre for ladies working in the Raleigh, Durham, and Chapel Hill areas of North Carolina livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday 15 July 2012 at 4 p.m. PDT / 6 p.m. CDT / 7 p.m. EDT.