Playwrights Say #NeverAgain
Essay

Playwrights Say #NeverAgain

8 May 2018

Rachael Carnes discusses organizing Playwrights Say Never Again to School Shootings, a new anthology of work on gun violence by nineteen playwrights with readings all over the United States.

Grassroots Theatre Training in the Eastern Kentucky Coalfields
Essay

Grassroots Theatre Training in the Eastern Kentucky Coalfields

4 February 2018

Bob Martin talks about Hurricane Gap Community Theater Institute and how they're supporting an Appalachian grassroots theatre movement. 

James and the Giant Peach
Essay

James and the Giant Peach

An Earthworm’s Resistance to Normalize Difference

15 May 2017

Actor Billy Flood discusses his performance as the Earthworm in StageOne Family Theatre’s production of James and the Giant Peach, sharing how he engaged with the role to resist gender norms.

Competitive Air Guitar on Stage at Humana
Essay

Competitive Air Guitar on Stage at Humana

13 May 2017

Airness uses air guitar to ask what is real. The answer: the families we make.

Black Theatre in Louisville
Essay

Black Theatre in Louisville

11 May 2016

Billy Flood, theatre artist based in Louisville, Kentucky talks to local black theatre artists about the state of black theatre in Lousiville.

Theatre in a Fly-over State
Essay

Theatre in a Fly-over State

Louisville Championship Arm Wrestling

6 February 2016

In this installment, Eli Keel discusses Louisville Championship Arm Wrestling and its non-traditional approach to live theatre.

Failure
Essay

Failure

Why Taking Risks is Still Essential

2 December 2015

Eli Keel discusses his experience performing in Phillip Dawkins’ play Failure: A Love Story and shares the timely lesson he learned.

Where the Wild Things Aren’t
Essay

Where the Wild Things Aren’t

12 November 2015

Michael Bigelow Dixon introduces the Monsters on Stage Project from Translyvania University.

The Gift of Shakespeare
Essay

The Gift of Shakespeare

25 October 2015

Actor and writer Eli Keel reflects on his introduction to Shakespeare and advocates translation for new audiences.

Theatre in a Fly-over State
Essay

Theatre in a Fly-over State

Seeking Consent in Theatrical Places

12 October 2015

In his third installment, Eli Keel discusses the ethics of seeking consent from actors in theatre settings.

Theatre in a Fly-over State
Essay

Theatre in a Fly-over State

The Racial Divide

14 September 2015

In the second installment of his series, writer and actor Eli Keel discusses the lack of representation for artists of color in Louisville’s theatre scene.

Theatre in a Fly-over State
Essay

Theatre in a Fly-over State

Playwriting

31 August 2015

In the first installment of his series, writer and actor Eli Keel discusses the state of new work in Kentucky and some of its key players.

I Do Community Theatre
Essay

I Do Community Theatre

9 August 2015

Writer and actor Eli Keel describes how his relationship with the terms “professional” and “community” theatre has evolved throughout his life. 

Community-Specific Theatre
Essay

Community-Specific Theatre

Conversations, Connections, and Considerations

10 April 2015

Talleri McRae shares a conversation hosted by StageOne Family Theatre in Louisville, Kentucky about making theatre specific to a particular community.

Making a Statement about Diversity at the Humana Festival of New American Plays
Essay

Making a Statement about Diversity at the Humana Festival of New American Plays

18 April 2014

Dani Snyder-Young writes about the intentional diversity she witnessed in five of the 2014 Humana Festival productions.

Cry Old Kingdom
Essay

Cry Old Kingdom

23 April 2013

Jeff Augustin’s Cry Old Kingdom takes place in Haiti, 1964 during François "Papa Doc" Duvalier's reigme. Dani Snyder-Young reviews the 2013 Humana Festival production with an eye towards its theme of sacrifice, and the actor-audience power dynamic.

Maximizing New Play Coverage at the Humana Festival with a Pop-Up Newsroom
Essay

Maximizing New Play Coverage at the Humana Festival with a Pop-Up Newsroom

30 March 2013

Engine31 is a team of twelve journalists striving to serve the artists of Humana Festival by reporting through a pop-up newsroom.

Learning to Embrace Appalachia
Essay

Learning to Embrace Appalachia

27 October 2012

Sometimes it takes leaving home to realize how much it makes the fabric of your life. Ada Smith reflects on finding her youth culture in the midst of tradition

My First Humana
Essay

My First Humana

29 March 2012

Kevin Becerra recounts his first time at the Humana Festival, and what it's like to head to the mythical center of new play development.

Rajiv Joseph: Benefits of Self-Loathing: a Keynote Address at the 40th Humana Festival of New American Plays at Actors Theatre of Louisville—Saturday 26 March 2016
Video

Rajiv Joseph: Benefits of Self-Loathing: a Keynote Address at the 40th Humana Festival of New American Plays at Actors Theatre of Louisville—Saturday 26 March 2016

The 40th Humana Festival of New American Plays at Actors Theatre of Louisville presented Rajiv Joseph: Benefits of Self-Loathing—a keynote address livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Saturday 26 March at 7:30 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 9:30 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 10:30 a.m. EDT (New York) / 14:30 GMT (London). On Twitter, use #HumanaFest and follow @ATLouisville and @HowlRoundTV.

The Path to Production Panel at the 39th Humana Festival of New American Plays at Actors Theatre of Louisville—Friday 10 April 2015
Video

The Path to Production Panel at the 39th Humana Festival of New American Plays at Actors Theatre of Louisville—Friday 10 April 2015

The 39th Humana Festival of New American Plays at Actors Theatre of Louisville presented The Path to Production livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Friday 10 April at 10 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 12 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 1 p.m. EDT (New York) / 17:00 GMT / 6 p.m. BST (London). In Twitter, use #HumanaFest and follow @ATLouisville.

Artists and Scientists: Great Minds Think Alike Panel at the 39th Humana Festival of New American Plays at Actors Theatre of Louisville—Saturday 4 April 2015
Video

Artists and Scientists: Great Minds Think Alike Panel at the 39th Humana Festival of New American Plays at Actors Theatre of Louisville—Saturday 4 April 2015

The 39th Humana Festival of New American Plays at Actors Theatre of Louisville presented Artists and Scientists: Great Minds Think Alike livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Saturday 4 April at 9 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 10 a.m. EDT (New York) / 14:00 GMT / 3 p.m. BST (London). In Twitter, use #HumanaFest and follow @ATLouisville.

The Role of Storytelling in the 21st Century with Anne Bogart at the 39th Humana Festival of New American Plays at Actors Theatre of Louisville—Saturday 28 March 2015
Video

The Role of Storytelling in the 21st Century with Anne Bogart at the 39th Humana Festival of New American Plays at Actors Theatre of Louisville—Saturday 28 March 2015

The 39th Humana Festival of New American Plays at Actors Theatre of Louisville presented The Role of Storytelling in the 21st Century with Anne Bogart livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Saturday 28 March at 9:30 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 10:30 a.m. EDT (New York) / 14:40 GMT (London). In Twitter, use #HumanaFest and follow @ATLouisville.

The Art of Collective Invention Conversation from Humana Festival of New American Plays in Louisville—Friday 4 April 2014
Video

The Art of Collective Invention Conversation from Humana Festival of New American Plays in Louisville—Friday 4 April 2014

Humana Festival of New American Plays at Actors Theatre of Louisville presented The Art of Collective Invention conversation livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Friday 4 April at 10 a.m. PDT/ 12 p.m. CDT / 1 p.m. EDT / 17:00 GMT / 6 p.m. BST (London).

Perspectives in Theatre Criticism: A Keynote by Lauren Gunderson livestreaming from Humana Festival of New American Plays in Louisville—Thursday 3 April 2014
Video

Perspectives in Theatre Criticism: A Keynote by Lauren Gunderson livestreaming from Humana Festival of New American Plays in Louisville—Thursday 3 April 2014

Humana Festival of New American Plays at Actors Theatre of Louisville presented Perspectives in Theatre Criticism livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Thursday 3 April at 11 a.m. PDT/ 1 p.m. CDT / 2 p.m. EDT / 18:00 GMT / 7 p.m. BST (London).